HF22 witnesses tests

in #community5 years ago

The most important part of HF22 is that it makes the blockchain resilient to rogue witness attacks.

This is the change that will allow anyone who want to provide infrastructure for the blockchain, to freely declare his/her witness intention and freely download in a ffirst time the executable files (Binaries) and run his own node.

This is why it is important for those aspiring to be witnesses to start preparing their participation on the HF22 tests.

I have been tweaking the code over the last days and that is the reson i haven't released it yet.

But that will change today (probably)

All the testing and validation has been performed on my forked branch of weku-chain deamon.

There is no warranty that weku adopts all my changes, and there is no warranty that breaking changes are not introduced if they accept my code but merge it with their branch which I do not track because it is never up-to-date on the GIT-HUB

I can certify that HF22 on my branch works as intended even if it has proven very difficult to make a test environment where 17 witnesses are required for the HF because i don't have enough servers to run them simultaneously.

Right now i am trying a staggered approach where i make the HF22 for the TESTs happen with only 6 witnesses required and once there are more I will try to update the code to require 17.

I don't know if it works, if it doesn't then we will have to content ourselves to run HF22 with 6 to 10 witnesses requirement to HF and push HF23 just to increase it to 17 (Or... We could try to push HF22 with the requirement of 17 but that might result in a short down time on the site)

I don't make those decisions.

But considering that the site goes down often for unrelated reasons I dont see the problem of assuming a short controlled downtime for PROGRESS (at least we know why and how)

image (4).png



First published in Weku.io

Sort:  

This is very great!, thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62800.25
ETH 2449.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57