My First Tailgate!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #community6 years ago

63584665-29D0-4D23-ABDA-4812D0D372DD.jpeg

Despite growing up in the great city of New York, my family never had the opportunities to really take me to many sporting events. Except for some years where the New York Yankees were not doing well in the late 80s and early 90s, it would also cost too much to go to these sporting events. However, my father and I would always spend Sundays watching football on TV at home and loving every minute of it.

Having the opportunity to do so now, I just lacked the understanding and time to go and experience this first hand. As I have continued to meet new people here, I have started to find my way around the many things available to do here in Florida. What I love the most is that there is so much to do for young families like my own. I have focused taking my family to many of these experiences on the weekends but never really considered sporting events until recently.

As the football season has started, there has been a lot of hype around the games here locally. A group of friends invited the family to do some tailgating and then seeing a game so I thought this would be a great opportunity to finally check that off the bucket list. While I always pictured what a tailgate entailed, I never imagined the multitude of people doing this. For those not in the United States, tailgating is getting to sporting events hours before and park outside the stadium and setup tents to listen to music, cook some food with grills, play games, and even dance (I even saw DJ setups that were impressive).

I also found it a great example of what community is as I saw many instances of people helping each other out by providing ingredients needed for the grill, sharing utensils, accomodating cars for parking space among many other things. It was like seeing rituals for many people who I kept hearing do this on a weekly basis! Friends are made at these events every time and some don’t even see each other outside of the tailgate. I found it very fun and great to see given a lot of the negativity we see elsewhere.

3F9B375D-B953-453B-9F4A-FE28D4078364.jpeg

It was a great experience to share with my family and I look forward to continue doing things like this again to demonstrate to my daughter the importance of community and helping. It was also fun to see the local team play so well and win the game! I see this same sense of community here on the #STEEM ecosystem so I am excited to be a part of it.

0FA90403-4BB0-4DA7-A13C-7E465F39A048.png

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link:
https://www.minnowbooster.com/referral/530636

Start your collection of Steem Monsters today at my referral link:
https://steemmonsters.com/?ref=newageinv

Sort:  

Looks like a great experience! I am always intrigued on how passionate collegee football fans are in the US.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sounds like it was an awesome experience that I will have to add to my bucket list...tail gating.

Sorry to keep reminding you how fun the Patriots tailgates have been!

The experience at dolphins stadium is so much better since the renovations. Every year me and my friends tailgate for the Jets-Phins game, however this year I actually have to fly up to NY for a friends wedding that weekend! :-(

Hi @newageinv!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.441 which ranks you at #16886 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 29 places in the last three days (old rank 16857).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 298 contributions, your post is ranked at #116.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76