You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What I Do And Why I Do It

in #community6 years ago

Appreciate the valuable information and perspective. Don't know if I'll follow your path but certainly an option. Had to go back to regular slave labor (painting contracting) so time is limited. We'll see if after about a month I have more time to experiment with other visions.

I am pleased, however, that you are doing well. You deserve it. Blessings.

Sort:  

Could be better. Could be worse. I don't know if I deserve anything, but I like to think I'm earning my way here.

I think you're following your own path. You've been chronicling it. :) I thought I would add to a conversation that's already in progress and just add my two cents.

I hope you're return to painting is a good thing. Meaning, it will take care of whatever it's meant to take care of. You've stated your health situation is not up to par, and that house painting had something to do with it, so I hope that means you're feeling better and that you can do what needs to be done.

We all do what we need to do, and hope it's enough. I wish you well with your painting contracting and hope to see you when you're around. :)

f'll be checking in each day and will attempt to post something at least 2 times per week. The project I took on is an old ranch house that was built in 1910. Cool house but they let the exterior deteriorate. Quite the project. After that I think I can scale back my work hours to about 4 per day. Not bad. My helpers can do the rest. So anyway, I'm just slowing down here.

Many blessings.

Okay, well good luck with the project. It sounds like an interesting one to work on. Turn of last century housing is getting harder and harder to find, so you're partaking in some historical renovation. Wouldn't happen to be on the state or national historical registry would it? Those generally have a list of stipulations that I think can get in the way of actually preserving a building.

I'll be on the lookout for your posts to see what kind of interesting concepts and topics you've got going. :)

I saw that you continue to do well with your commenting and curating, etc. Bravo! Ultimately this is what makes Steemit "work".

The old home I'm working on is right on the old emigrant trail to California for the gold rush. Strange to think that just a smidge over 100 years ago this house was constructed entirely with hand tools. There was no electricity, and supplies for the project were delivered by horse-drawn wagons! They have a big old barn built the same time that used wood pegs for construction. No nails!

I'll have to take some pics and share. Many blessings.

That is pretty amazing to look at where we're at in just over one hundred years time. Makes you want to stick around to see where we might be in another 100 years. I'm guessing though, the only 100 years I might live to see will have to start from my birth in 1966, rather than 2018. Oh, well. :)

I've seen some of the nails used to build homes that were turn of last century, or maybe a little later. They weren't wooden, but the head of the nails was kind of strange—more of an angled part of the nail itself. Pretty cool, though.

Please do put up the photos if you get a chance. It would be great to see the work you've done compared to what it looked like to begin with.

I was surprise to discover the barn had been built with wooden pegs instead of nails. Must have been an old traditional craftsman working his trade to the end. I find the old nails of which you speak quite frequently around here among old buildings from the gold rush days. Each individual nail was made by an apprentice blacksmith as part of their training.

Yes, I'll take and post some pics. Blessings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62