EVERY CHILD IS YOUR CHILD

in #community7 years ago

Hello steemians

In my introductory post and a post after that I talked about "let's meet a need(LMAN) and how I want to make an impact through LMAN PROJECT. One thing I haven't explained is what LMAN truly means and how it was birthed.IMG_20161120_152221.jpg
One day on my way back from the market a little boy looking all tattered approached me and asked for #20. Looking at him I knew he needed more so I added a little extra. With so much joy on his face and with a big smile he said thank you.
received_1570629816283933.jpeg

Getting home that day my heart went out to him and to other underprivileged kid. That night i decided that I was going to do something to make 2016 memorable for them. I told my sister, cousin and some friends about having an end of year party for underprivileged kids.
received_1512417612105154.jpeg
We went out to close friends and family asking for donations of food stuff and cash. The turn out was amazing, people gave way more than I expected and so with what we got I knew we could take care of 300 underprivileged kids.
received_1512417262105189.jpeg
A week before the party my team and I went out to some areas in Warri (Delta state) to distribute the invitation cards. During the distribution i got to know that some of the kids were not in school due to financial challenges(story for another day).
received_1552192711460977.jpeg
On the 23rd od december 2016 we had our first LMAN end of year party with over 500 kids and guardian in attendance. The joy in the heart of the kids could be seen on their faces. At the end of the event all the kids went home with food stuffs and back to school materials.
received_1552192518127663.jpeg
received_1506309172715998.jpeg
received_1506308642716051.jpeg
For me it wasn't all about the items we gave but the love we showed to the kids and that goes a long way to show that you don't have to birth them before you care for them because every child is also your child.

Sort:  

This is really good @mimi4dammy
I also run an initiative in Uyo that cater for the welfare of kids.

Welcome to the community! What a great cause.

Thank you :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mimi4dammy to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

The best way to make the word a better place is by showing love and meeting people's need

I really want to do that in my own little way :)

Thank you @mimi4dammy for this kind heart. your type is rare. you know what? this post just reminded me of a child I saw this morning when I was stepping to the street, I felt so bad for that small child but I didn't even know what to do. God will reward your good heart.

Trust me when i say that i know how you felt. Don't beat urself over it cos the big man up there(GOD)watch over them too :)

You are a lady after my own heart, and oo am not lesbian. God bless you maami, i do this too whenever i am chanced. I have alo t of issues my self but I tell my self theres some one in a worse off condition s. There is nothing nothing little when it comes to helping others.

True dear.. God bless you too 4 being a giver :)

Reading this was inspiring and heartwarming. Well done Dami and your amazing team. There's nothing beautiful in seeing people suffering.
I could only imagine the joy on the faces of those kids.
God bless you and everyone who made this possible

Thank you josh:)

At least you showed those children that someone cares. Nice one

Thank you dearie :)

Such a great cause! Just resteemed god bless you!

Thank you... I do appreciate

Your welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56924.47
ETH 3086.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41