You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Building Community

in #community7 years ago

I want to resteem this and add my 2 cents but the resteem button isn't available. So, I'll just provide a link to this article in my post. I will also provide comment here.

Polarization in our country seems to be reaching a fevered pitch. There are so many competing interests and each interest expressed must be consensus or the people with that interest get religious on everyone else. Liberals want a liberal government and want to force it on everyone else. Conservatives want a conservative government and want to force that on us. Politicians and media seem to do everything they can to perpetuate this polarization.

I posted this on FB several times and got very little response. I'm posting it here and will see how it does.

I propose a world where only people of a particular view exist. In other words, only liberals or conservatives or pick your label. There's no political party, no biased media, or any of the other boundaries that we currently see. I wonder how long it would take before polarization raises its ugly head again. How long will it be until political parties form, in-fighting begins, media starts to split on the differences, etc?

I suspect it will only be a short time until that society degrades to what it is today. Because of that, I wonder why people can't realize that and determine to create a society where people are free to live their lives how they choose. Possible? Maybe but probably not likely.

Feeling a bit defeated and cynical.

Sort:  

I love the quote" those who can govern themselves, don't need a government".

I'm working on creating a small ecovillage (designated as a social club to get tax exemptions) that functions as a prime example of a resource based economy.

Have you heard about The Venus Project?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57949.44
ETH 2349.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44