Community Service Day 1 Surveying First Wind Farm Area

in #community5 years ago (edited)

Community Service, why not?

I recalled @celestal was doing a civil service a year ago. I followed his journey and it was interesting to read his thoughts about it. This time, I am going to have mine soon within the next couple of weeks. Unlike him, who was stationed in a public service sector, I will be stationed in a district where a group of students including myself will be helping the villagers expanding their potentials and empowering the community through education.

Today I got the chance to visit the location. The district I am about to be stationed is only a couple minutes away from South Coast of Java.However, the beaches are not the typical sandy white beach. The area has a strong wind and current which makes it dangerous for swimming. Unlike some of beaches in Yogyakarta, it has volcanic black sand beaches which are mostly utilized for sand mining. Majority of its people relies on agriculture and animal husbandry. It's very serene place.

The area is also one of the first Indonesian's wind farm energy area, which I think is fascinating.Yet, today I heard some problems about it. So that's part of the homework to explore the possible solutions.

Another interesting part is that, they also have eco-tourism in which you can see from the brochure on the right. It's well-established village and heavily invested in sustainable development. I think my project in that area will only re-fixing the materials and projects they already have.

All in all, there were a lot of interesting information I got from the first day surveying the area. I haven't finished the whole report but as soon as I did, i'll update it on steemit. Also, I would like to take you into my into my community service experience where I'll probably have some projects in the field of media, education and science.

Sort:  

This sounds interesting, way more interesting than what my civil service was :D

I hope it's interesting but it has some heavy responsibilities as well. You are my inspiration :D!

You are my inspiration :D!

I'm honored!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66