You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Top 12 Things I Didn't Know I Would Be Doing On Steemit

in #community6 years ago

Where I generalize, you hit on specifics. Beautifully, I might add.

I've been semi-following the steemmonsters thing, and I see others gaming hard, yet today, I had a "friend" here from Uganda in desperate need of money because they must pay 3-5 months' rent at one time. She's just finished university, can't find a job in the capital city, doing research for lazy wealthier students to survive, and doesn't want to go back to her village because there is a future of an arranged marriage, children and hard work to make ends meet day to day. An intelligent woman, and this is her future.

And there's steemmonsters.

I hear you loud and clear Glen. Am I "dissing" steemmonsters? Not really. Just because half the planet suffers, should our young, fortunate to have been born in a wealthier part of the world, have to suffer as well. No. But yes. How about just be aware, and if we are actually on a platform that can make a difference, why isn't everyone doing just that?

Has it always been as such, and now we are literally having conversations with people around the world, so it's much harder to ignore the hardships that others face? Although, according to your summation, there are plenty of 30 something year olds who are doing just that.

It's a sad state of affairs. I wonder if a few of us see it as a tug of war, but really, there's no tug and no war, because there's too many without a clue, or with a clue and just don't care.

sigh

Sort:  

The thing about Steem Monsters is, it's a pretty good idea. They've got some smart looking cards (although, a bit generic and well worn—they could have come up with something a little more STEEM specific), and now they're farming out some major work for backstories on the characters to Steemians and paying what will end up being pennies on the dollar for it, and people are happily doing it because there's enough contest money available for it and because they want to show their creativity. It's being a part of a project that's greater than self.

According to the makers, they're hoping this will bring more people to the platform. Okay. I'd like to know who these people are? The 30-something year old people I see playing Magic, The Gathering during the middle of the day when others would be working to support a family? I don't know. Sometimes I feel I've already gone insane.

I don't know if it's possible to help everyone. I don't know how possible it is to prove who people are so we can have some self-assurance that the aid being sent is actually getting to a person in actual need. But I wouldn't mind seeing more of that and less of some of this other.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73