MY PC HARDWARE Still Rocks After The Whole TEN YEARS..: Amiga 500, Ledger Nano S and ASUS MAXIMUS FORMULA!








LEDGER NANO S SPECIAL COMMODORE AMIGA 500 EDITION ;)

By the way, the Amiga 500 you see in the photo is still working!
IT'S MINE and will be passed to the next generation with the note below..:

"This is the absolute magic from the late 1980s... An all-in-one computer... With an extra 512 kb slot, you could play the best games ever created with JUST 1MB OF RAM!!! - It also had a LIGHT-PEN which was making you able to draw lines on your MONITOR, meaning that you were touching to your MONITOR'S SCREEN with a PEN and it was generating LINES ON THE SCREEN!!!"

Good old days! It was my second computer after the legendary Commodore 64!

Well, it seems the guys and gals in Asus did their best here when it comes to RELIABILITY.

I am still using the same Motherboard, the first ever edition of Asus Maximus Formula, it has been 10 YEARS and it still rocks!


Now, please tell me, isn't that PASSIVE CPU COOLER looking great?

Well, my 10 years old PC welcomes you dear fellow steemians.


What you see is an Asus Maximus Formula Motherboard in all its glory. It was the first edition in "Maximus Formula" series, it was one of the best Motherboards of its time (and of course, it was VERY, very pricey)...

It has overclocking features in BIOS Menu Screen (surely it's a 10 years old technology and you can't compare it today's monsters - but it doesn't mean that my Motherboard is not a monster, right? It's still a monster, but an old one!) like "CPU LEVEL UP" and "DRAM Frequency" controllers (be careful there)

It also comes with VOLTIMINDER LED LIGHTS that let you know if there is anything wrong with the VOLTAGE status of the Motherboard's CPU, North-Bridge, South-Bridge and Ram Slots! "GREEN" for the good, "RED" for the trouble!


And Asus Maximus Formula Motherboard also offers an LCD Poster which keeps you awake for any malfunction. But the best part is, you don't need to read "GIBBERISH" to find out what's wrong! It's not a two digit display, it's a user friendly and flexible display! If everything is fine, then it displays the "time". Good!


Having a good Motherboard doesn't hurt,
BUT THE PSU (Power Supply) IS THE MOST IMPORTANT PART OF YOUR COMPUTER WHEN IT COMES TO "LONGEVITY"!

Please welcome, GIGABYTE ODIN GT 800 W!



You can clearly see that I have a great PASSIVE CPU COOLER here. IT WORKS and I mean it. I should admit that the airflow is great in my case, I have 4 intake FANS (2 FANS at the bottom of the case and 2 FANS on the SIDE PANEL) and 1 outtake FAN. GIGABYTE'S wonderful PSU still has its own share of case cooling with its 14cm fan.


The PSU you see here is the first ever of its kind, it's THE FIRST SOFTWARE CONTROLLED PSU from GIGABYTE - Is your computer hardware getting the "right" amount of voltage "consistently"? This is a key question in hardware reliability.

This beast comes with a 14 cm ball bearing FAN and Japanese Capacitors, and most importantly it's "80 PLUS" certified (classifications like "gold", "platinum", "silver" didn't exist then, and as you know today there are more options like 90+ Certification) !


As you can see from the screenshot, you can adjust the fan speed and set alarms for the Thresholds specified by yourself (Max-Min Voltages, Max-Min Temperatures, and Max-Min Fan Speeds - Looks like a good deal.) - But as always, when it comes to hardware, reliability comes with a HIGH PRICE.


Taking care of the cables always helps to keep temperatures low thanks to better air-flow in the case! I know it's not the ideal look, but does the job well.


Now, this thing is HUGE! (AND BELIEVE ME, It's unbelievably HEAVY!) - I know Coolermaster and Corsair both produce great cases but this is by far the best PC Case ever produced in my humble opinion. It's a Thermaltake Armor Plus (a SuperTower PC Case)


Doesn't it look good? Not that I am an avid gamer or video editor but this thing has more than enough room to support even the biggest video cards.


This is a case that could be used in the Death Star!


These are the TWO intake FANS at the bottom, carefully adjusted by me :)
This is "COOL" :)


And these TWO intake FANS salute you from the side panel. I know it looks a bit weird, but it works. The bigger fan you see there directly flows high pressure air to the South-Bridge of the motherboard. Asus Maximus Formula is indeed a very good Motherboard, but it gets hot very easily, I think it's about the thermal paste they used for the default passive cooler on the Motherboard.

You see the "black tapes" there? Each month, I hold them and add a few drops of quality machine oil there to keep my FANS spinning!


Amiga 500 had 512 kb, My PC has 8 GB! (Of course it's still very low in today's standards)
I know it's a bit dusty, but believe me I (and YOU) have seen much worse and I think that it's "tolerable".


With this configuration (and please add ASUS STRIX OC EDITION GEFORCE GTX 750 Ti [I updated it because the old GPU fan stopped spinning eventually] + Samsung Evo SSD Drive to that) I use Adobe Creative Suite (Photoshop / Dreamweaver / Illustrator), code HTML / Email templates without a pain (of course, I am neither a 3D RENDER guy nor a video editor by profession) - And while surfing the NET, I sometimes keep a FIFTY browser tabs open at the same time while still working with the Adobe Creative Suite. I love my PC!


And here we see my SSD Driver. My old Hard Drive was still working great but as you know it's good to stay awake then a nightmare. And who needs an SSD holder if you have a quality adhesive tape?

Software I use for security and reliability...

  • Kaspersky Internet Security


A software that I couldn't live without - It totally deserves the price.


  • Advanced System Care Professional:



Advanced System Care Pro IDE Screenshot: As you can see from the background, I use HTML and ATOM EDITOR to edit my Steemit posts. Atom Editor is great!

Advanced System Care Professional is a PAID Service ($19 for a YEAR), but I think it's a very reasonable price and the software itself is a MUST for those who use a Windows PC.
You can try it for FREE.

What about a PSU REVIEW DATABASE?

Hundreds of PSU reviews! Well, after all, "KNOWLEDGE IS POWER", right?


THANK YOU VERY MUCH
FOR YOUR PRECIOUS TIME AND SUPPORT!
(And keep your case free from dust! ;))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98