What is the American Dream?

in #community6 years ago

the-american-dream.jpg

The question I propose to you today is a simple question but most people never answer it within their lifetimes. Most of the time people are too busy wrapped up in the day to day routine they wake up one morning and their life has gone by and never enjoyed it. So I pose the same question to each and every one who reads this. What is the American dream? What is my Dream life look like? What is the point of what I am doing? What am I doing to achieve what I want? Is what I want too much?

There is no right or wrong answer to this question because honestly the American Dream is different for each and every one of us. If I were to go to the richest person in the world and the poorest man in the world what the American dream is I would get two widely different answers. To most the American dream would be to live in America and to work for themselves and achieve success by making enough money to retire early. This would be a standard American dream however this will vary depending on the experiences and person you are asking.
For instance my American Dream is to one day own my own property (Double Wide on 3-5 acres of land). To be able to support my family and not have to live paycheck to paycheck. Also to retire with enough money to not have to worry from the age of 65. I realize this is not everyone’s dream but this would make me happy throughout my whole life if I could live like this for a majority of my years. This is my American dream what is yours? Honestly ask yourself this question and even maybe write it down somewhere as a life goal to get to this point.

Is what you are doing in your life right now a stepping stone to get to where your American dream state is? If the answer is no then you will want to make sure that you can use what you are doing to achieve the specific life you want if you are not doing this something needs to change to put you on the right path of achieving your dream goal. For instance if you are wanting to be an Independent Business Owner but have never written or studied how to write a business plan then you are never going to achieve your goals in life. Therefore you need to live what you want and make sure what you are wanting is achievable.

Am I asking for too much? I used to when I was in high school I wanted to own the world I wanted to be everything and wanted to be super rich and to never have to work again. This was highly not achievable and when I realized this I fell into a huge pit of depression. This was also when I was injured and left the military due to my shattered heel. However I came back and realized I could be happy through life with a lot less. Once I changed and started living for my dream instead of living for what society taught me was the American Dream life became a whole lot better and I was more confident. This confidence led me to my wife and kids and hoping in the near future we can move onto a 5 acre plot. So please ask yourself these life questions and remember lying on this is only lying to yourself.

Stay Connected:
Website: http://wealthyexperience.com
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@ksmiller88
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/MrSquishy06

upvote-follow-resteeem.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54