Can I ask for STEEM to Coinfund for a Service Animal?

in #community7 years ago

9-sidestanding.jpgCourtesy of cdn2www.dogtime.com

I have said in the past that I have had a TBI traumatic brain injury.

I need a partner who can alert me when my alarms or going off, lead me home when I say to, find help when I when I get lost and provide a solid routine for my mental growth.

The right K9 for me is a Belgian Malinois. Great learner, tracker and dutiful service animal.

I found a breeder. They will fly the kiddo to PDX because I cannot drive.

I have some $100+ saved. The breeder wants $1900, I can cover living expenses and medical care but $1900 is difficult to raise.

I bought into steemit to hopefully be there when my SP can help me with the purchase of the animal. I am in about $100 hard earned currency.

Are there any members of the community who can donate STEEM to my cause?

Sort:  

I have 70+ SBD I can donate to you. I'll do it later tonight when I get to a hotel.

Steem on, best wishes and keep me posted. If the posts start paying out again, I may be able to donate more. 😎

This sounds like a really great crowdfunding idea and it sounds like you need it.

Usually crowdfunders give something in return, or they are used to actually. I guess what you are proposing is really crowd-donation. However what you can give in return is participation in your journey. You can do this by making it into a story which unfolds . Ask anyone, the best crowdfunding campaigns do this.

I had a look around the different crowdfunding services (i.e. 3rd parties) to see if any accepted Bitcoin or even (long shot) Steem. Then it struck me - Steem(it) really could be this crowdfunding platform. It has this:

  • The ability to post updates in rich web media
  • Easily accept payments

However there's a few things that the other services do that Steemit doesn't:

  • Hold the money in escrow until such a time as the project is verified as completed
  • Sniff out any fraud and cancel the crowdfunding project if any reported or detected
  • Take a potentially sizeable cut of the funds raised!

The escrow service could be done using Ethereum smart contracts using crowdsale code, but we have no such thing here on Steemit.

It matters because $1900 is a lot of money to give to an untrusted stranger, or even contribute to.

What I suggest is that you model successful crowd funding tactics and create the story of the journey. This post is the start of that journey. That means giving credit to people who contribute, marking milestones, getting people involved in the project as it goes along, and letting people know if there are any delays or problems.

I will give you $10 towards this, without trusting you, and so blindly. Unfortunately Steem does not have an escrow system so if it turns out you won't spend this $10 on the dog, I will have to take that risk.

Good luck 😄

Have a Traumatic brain injury too. But am very fortunate. Wish you well!
I would like to suggest eating coconut oil. As coconut oil provides a great source of energy to the brain. So much that it can sometimes reverse Alzheimer's disease in some people!

Thank you for sharing. It feels good to know I am not alone.
I, too, have had great success with coconut oil with CBD.

It takes a whole bunch of courage to tell other about challenges and hardships. Kudos!

BTW seeing this message turned a sour day into a sweet one. Really thank you it means a lot to me.

May love and light walk with you forever. :)

Indeed, the input will be put to good use as this journey begins.
It' s like $300 to reserve a pup and that is where I am so far, almost there.

I am going to do those things suggested by @personz.
I think it will be fun and helpful for achieving my goal.

Wow, glad to have influenced you 🙂 Followed and interested to see how it goes. That's how to get people! 😉

resteemed for you, to hopefully get you more views

love and light.

Hopefully, you can get some exposure. RS/ UV.

I am grateful.

I had to put down my last one because having it was against the law.
I have been chasing happiness for the better part of 20 years.
I have found no other to fill the hole in my heart.
I miss you everyday Zuma...

Zuma was an Wolf/Akita about 115 lbs, 18 months old. He was the smallest of the litter of seven with a brilliant personality, for free, when I was passing through Zuma Beach, CA.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.51 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 09 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83