How to build and get the most out of communities: bringing value and making yourself an asset

in #community6 years ago

pexels-photo-776636.jpeg

Humans are social creatures, no matter what environment we are in we naturally gravitate towards those with similar interests and values. Steemit and other social media sites are no different. We all want to find our place, our tribe, so we can thrive and flourish.

Since joining Steemit I have joined several communities and even taken on a leadership role in a few so I have had the opportunity to make some observations on how we can all improve those experiences.

Education

When joining a new community the natural first step is to find out what it's all about. Far too many people skip this crucial step! It's important when joining a group to figure out if you will fit in, there's not point in being there if your values don't align. My first suggestion is to always come in with a little knowledge under your belt. Most communities have an FAQ, a white paper, or in the case of discord a start-here type of room with a wealth of resources for exactly this purpose. Coming in with a head start will allow you to begin on the right foot and vastly improve your experience.

Initiative and independence

This tip is a natural extension of the previous one. Having the drive, initiative and even the curiosity to independently make a community better will benefit the whole. If you don't like the way things are moving say something! Suggest a better way. Don't be afraid to be the change you want to see. If all the singular parts of the system are moving on their own with no cohesion things will quickly deteriorate.

As our minnow mayor over on PAL always asks us "Can you take this complaint and make it a suggestion?"

Reframing your complaints into concrete ways to improve user interactions/experiences is a far better way to initiate change and betterment for all, and instead of passing the buck to someone else gives you a sense of personal responsibility.

Giving

This one can not be stated enough! Many people join communities and ask "What can you do for me?" Instead they should be asking "What can I do for you?"

In my experience people who have joined our communities with a willingness to jump right in and contribute have had a more natural and organic success purely from starting with the right mindset. The beauty of humanity is that we are all unique and we all have different strengths and skills. Find the empty space that needs filling and flow into it like water, occupy that space and own it!

Respect

This one is dead obvious but respect is earned. Personally, I am thrilled to educate and share my knowledge all day long with people who are respectful and eager to learn, it gives me the fuzzies to know I am helping :) It gives me even more fuzzies to see those same people turning around and sharing that knowledge and spirit with others. Empathy and a strong theory of mind often form the basis of respect so strengthening these skills will make you an asset and create a caring community.

In this model the abundance can multiply exponentially and spread like wildfire. This helps form the basis of a successful community.



These may seem like obvious or cliché ideas but they are even more important in online communities than anywhere else. The online community is global, so the opportunity to meet people from all walks of life is greater than ever before. This brings greater challenges but also greater opportunities for personal growth so I think it's worth examining how you can bring value to the world and the spaces you choose to occupy

<3

pinkbannergif.gif

Sort:  

very true..excellent contribution ..

very very beautiful

it's all attitude, thanks, humility and wishes to share and learn...Thanks for your post!! :)

Yes exactly, summed up in a few words :) I'm glad you agree!

Many people join communities and ask "What can you do for me?" Instead they should be asking "What can I do for you?"

I moderate in a couple of communities and always I get the question how can I get upvotes here?

Sometimes I just feel like kicking them out immediately but I take a deep breathe and explain that it is by engaging and showing value that you can get people to care about you.

Yes I moderate on both pal, slothicorn, and dsound all of which offer upvotes in various forms and if people don't even say hello before asking about an upvote I must admit it's annoying, a good portion turn around and come to understand a better approach but there will always be those only in it for gain.

Yes indeed and it is the one's that learn that it is by connecting, engaging and creating deep human connections that those followers turn to engagers who will upVote and comment on your posts.

Beautifully said (don't I wish)... ok, written :-) I particularly like your post, as this are not just empty words, but you really do what you say. I have been lucky to get your help and support on numerous occasions and I am very thankful :-)

Thank you Reinhard, doing my best :) I appreciate your kind words!

Thanks, great write! I find I struggle to make time for engaging with the communities I'm a part of, once content creation, posting, and interacting with people on steemit are done with. It's a shame because I've met so many cool people this way but can't hang out on the discords often enough to keep up. Hopefully this will inspire me long term to try and put some more time aside :)

You'd be surprised that by even popping in a few times a week for a few minutes can really help you meet people! Just find a community you jive with first and it goes from being networking to: I want to say hi to friends :)

Such good advice. I've joined a few discord channels and I always feel like when I log on I'm either in the middle of someones personal conversation or that I happen to log on when others aren't on. Then I get distracted with my daily work and forget to get back to it. I feel like I am not taking the best advantage of what they could offer, or what I could offer them, but sort of feel like I'm hitting a wall with it? I guess I just need to be on there more often, it's just finding the time. I would like to do more though.

I think it feels like that for everyone who isn't familiar, some discords are busier than others though so you are more likely to fins people all day, some have on/off hours that are more quiet. I wouldn't worry about butting in on convo thats basically chat. people enter and talk for a bit than leave, its always a bit disorganized and its expected/encouraged that people will jump in!

I suppose that is true, I've just found I'm often on at the wrong times as well. I could just take more time with it I suppose. Do you feel it is a valuable tool and well worth the effort?

Funny fact! That was an answer from Julia logged in my account (which could happen because we share the same computer) Now this is Vache Morte using @juliakponsford's account for revenge I guess... Sorry @donnadavisart to bring you in the middle of our couple issues :P
My best to Winston!

Oops haha, to answer your question I feel like I have made more connections on discord than I have on Steemit just because of the immediate nature of chat vs. commenting which is kind of stilted and often spread over longer periods of time.

Marvellous write-up about probably the most important topic here on Steemit that people should be paying attention to if they want to get anywhere.

Your post comes at a time when I'm doing exactly this... Trying to become part of the Steemit community as a contributing member... How? By starting to recognise my own flaws (most saliently, the fact that I was buying votes through the Smartsteem service) and trying to correct them, and trying to become more active in terms of networking and being part of groups/communities.

I haven't bought votes for over two weeks now and it feels amazing. I've also joined @thenewalchemists lead by @lilyraabe, whose vision will take them far, I believe.

Really looking forward to growing and helping others grow in the weeks/months/(even years) to come! ^^

Thank you, I do think too many people ignore the human aspect of this place since it is intertwined with a monetary reward aspect! No judgement on the bidbots, I have used them in the past it just seemed to make sense from a promotional aspect, but thinking long term there are so many negatives that it seems wiser not to feed that industry anymore! I haven't heard of new alchemists I'll have to check it out :)

Todo esta en el carácter...

Such a fantastic post, thank you so much. You and your work has been an inspiration to me since I started on steemit. Your contests, writing, and everything else are always so wonderful. Love your thoughts on community building here. Resteemed and thank you for sharing!

Thank you, go forth and pass it along :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63061.76
ETH 2602.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75