1000 Moringas challenge. Help me grow 1000 edible perennial Moringa Oleifera trees to donate to community groups. 1 vote = 1 tree. 27 down, 973 to go!

in #community7 years ago

Moringa_oleifera_nugge_drum_stick_leaf_herbs_and_spices_of_India.jpg
Photo courtesy of Wikimedia, Hari Nasad Hadig, Bangalore India, photographer. Permissions: Creative Commons license 2.0

Twenty seven votes. Twenty seven Moringa Oleifera trees. Happy dance! This is the #1000Moringas challenge.

For those who don't know me, I have embarked on a personal challenge to plant 1000 Moringa Oleifera trees and donate them to local food banks, schools, senior centers, Habitat for Humanity, and to also have a good-karma giveaway on Craigslist. I will grow them for less than a year in all likelihood, but I don't want to plan too far ahead. I am certain that I would like to be able to give away sturdy, established little trees so they can withstand a little unintended neglect from their new owners, should that occur.

Moringa Oleifera are easy to grow, fast growing trees with edible leaves, flowers, pods and seeds. They are grown all over the world, usually in warmer climates, but can be grown anywhere, given the proper protection for weather conditions.

They can be grown in pots or containers indoors or out. They can be grown directly in the soil. They are nutrient rich. I've eaten the leaves in soups and stir fry dishes. I've also eaten the dried seeds. The pods can be eaten like asparagus or okra. They are commonly known as the drumstick tree in some parts of the world, for their abundance of pods.

This is a personal challenge, but it really isn't my challenge. It's our challenge. You - the Steemit community - and I - will grow these trees together.

Progress report: Took some practice shots with the Sony today. I'm very rusty, and never learned how to use a dslr really well, so this will be my OJT. It felt good to clear out the old broken cameras - I will drop them off at a camera shop or give them away to someone who tinkers with these things...

It's good the shots were only for practice. I didn't have a memory card in the camera, though I could see the shots on the display screen. The battery charger works, the battery holds a charge, and the built-in flash works fine. Next step: locate the padded camera knapsack with the memory cards, and other odds and ends.

I set up the frame outdoors for the shadecloth. I attached sections of piping together and have settled on a 10' x 12' area. Tomorrow I will anchor the metal frame and attach the shadecloth. All is transpiring at a leisurely pace, which is exactly what I prefer. Soothing and non-stressful, I anticipate working in and around the garden will evolve into a zen-like routine and rhythm in the future.

I will check my mail drawer at the Post Office on Sunday - the lobby will be open, and that's when I can get a ride. I don't enjoy walking to the shuttle stop and spending two hours riding and walking briskly in temperatures of over 100 degrees Fahrenheit to pick up the mail ten miles away. Tom has spoiled me. I am content to wait for the ride.

I'm pretty sure the seeds I ordered will be there, 1000 fresh organic Moringa Oleifera PKM1 seeds, for the 2017 season. Soon I will be taking and posting my very own photos of these lovely little trees-in-waiting.

Thank you for stopping by, and please drop in from time to time for the latest update.

Sort:  

wow, that's great thanks to share this info...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by joanroberts from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85