Grandmother's Shakers.....

in #community6 years ago

As far back as I can remember, these Chick Salt & Pepper shakers lived on the counter in my Grandmother's kitchen. Her home was always open at lunch time, Monday through Saturday, to any family member or close friend to drop in for a Sandwich Bar lunch, no notice necessary. If you had an unexpected guest with you..... that was ok too.

She would sit out the condiments and sandwich filling offerings across a long kitchen counter, lay two paper towels with a couple of kitchen knives in front of the condiments, so you would have a place to make the sandwich and of course there were always paper plates with little straw paper plate holders so the plates would be secure as you filled them with that day's offerings. Always in the back though, the Chicks..... waiting to be used and as you can see, they have happy little scars from being VERY well used.

IMG_5485 cropped for niume header.jpg

There could be any variety of sandwich makings from bought items such has ham & bologna or homemade fillings like pimento cheese or deviled egg. Sometimes on a winter day she would have a pot of tomato or chicken noodle soup warming on the stove or once in a while if you were lucky there could be a small baked sweet potato or fried bologna. On the other side of the kitchen she would pull out her dessert offerings which frequently included bought cookies of various kinds, FRUIT of course which considered dessert as well and the occasional homemade offering, cake, brownies or pie.

IMG_5485.jpg

She loved her family fiercely and this ritual kept a lot of us close not only to her, but to each other, aunts, uncles, cousins. After she passed, I was blessed to get these icons of her love filled kitchen. I kept them on my counter. Some time later, I found one of my brothers had nothing warm and fuzzy of Grannies and so I gifted him the Chicks knowing they would hold all those same memories for him as well. He accepted them and they then sat happily on HIS kitchen counter. Several years later as he realized he was losing his battle with cancer, he gave them back to me knowing what precious family memories they held and knowing they wouldn't mean the same to his children if left in his home.

IMG_5485baw.jpg

So for a couple of years now, they have been happily sitting back in my own kitchen.

Happy, happy memories....

Feel free to share a Granny memory.... or a Grandpa one if you like.

Wishing you a happy day.

Love you !

Jacey

good times with family make for the best kind of memories

Sort:  

I'm so glad that you have the salt and pepper shakers back. Those memories are precious...and your grandma would be so happy that you have them.
I'm sorry about the loss of your brother.

I'm glad I have them too. They really do make me smile every time I see them. I know Granny would be happy they are still loved.

And thank you, he was a great brother and he is sorely missed. We had some great years though and many happy memories, that also continue to make me smile.

I thought this was a nice comment, very caring and kind.

Good memories are one of the main things in our life.)

The SURE are !

Those are indeed precious. Thanks for sharing them!

Indeed they ARE precious. Amazing the number of great memories one little dinged set of salt and pepper shakers can evoke.

All 4 of my grandparents lived until I was in my 30s and got to enjoy all 3 of my children. I have so many memories and so many treasures!

That is wonderful that you got to know all four of yours. I'm sure that was fun for them to get to see and enjoy your children.

It was really special because as I was growing up they all lived within blocks of our home. I got to see them often and spend lots of time with my grandparents. After I got married and had a family of my own I moved one town away and oh my, were they upset about that! They thought I was way too far away from home.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47