You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dear Community, Let Your Voice Be Heard | Top 20 Witness Communication

in #community5 years ago

Great!
I'd like three things:

  1. I've changed my votes to represent my perspective as best as I can, but there seems to be intentional obfuscation when it comes to witness opinions on relevant issues. I'd like to see an "official" post, from you, perhaps, after talking to each of the top thirty witnesses (because we need alternatives if we're not going to vote for a top twenty witness) on those topics.
  2. I'd like real information about the expected impact on author and curation rewards of EIP. When asking people like @markymark, I've only gotten answers that it can't be answered, because the intention of EIP is to change behavior, so it'll be different because behavior changes. But that shouldn't be how we make big changes. We should collect as much data as possible, and at least provide a few scenarios to compare. I propose that we see an analysis that assumes behavior will not change. The biggest impact, I think, will be the rewards curve but I don't really know. Will a post that gets 2 steem in today's environment, author and curator rewards combined, get 0.5 based on that number of rshares? Will it get 1.5? Will it get 0.05? I have not seen this analysis.
  3. I think most humans using Steem are having a positive impact on the Steem environment. There are a few bad apples spoiling the bunch, and they have a lot of accounts. I think EIP misses their needs pretty dramatically. If EIP is going to go through as proposed, something needs to be done to protect them. There needs to be a way to upvote a comment you like that isn't IMPORTANT you just want to show your approval and give it a few pennies without "wasting" your VP because you're not voting on a viral meme. I propose a whitelist of users who will find their little votes matched by 🐋 votes up to its expected value in pre-EIP. That way, the positive, human behavior won't disappear.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I could definitely do my best to get a witness questionnaire of sorts done possibly.

What specific questions (besides those you listed) would you think would be beneficial to be included?

Here are a few questions that I'd like answered, and I'll include a few that I don't care about the answers to, but that some people might like to see:

  1. What are your positions on the three pillars of EIP?
  2. What are the problems that your solutions are solving on Steemit and how are they solving them? Please be specific and provide examples.
  3. What is your position on bidbots?
  4. How do you think the target user on Steemit behaves, include voting, posting, delegation, powering-up behaviors and any other behaviors you'd hope, upon mass adoption, we'd see from the "average" user.
  5. What is your larger vision of Steem? Why is it worth it to try to make this work?
  6. Is Steem a social media platform? Is it a blogging platform? It is a development platform? I know it's all three, but what do you think HF21 is pushing it away from or towards, and is that what you want?
  7. If you think Steem is being destroyed, who do you think is destroying it, and why? If you think it'll survive anything, who are its greatest champions, or does it need no champions?
  8. If you were new to Steem, what would you do/what would you want from witnesses?
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67128.03
ETH 3788.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74