Why Steemit Caused Me to Share Peaches Around My Neighborhood

in #community7 years ago

I just found Steemit recently and am still learning my way around. When some friends invited me and my husband to go pick ripe peaches from their tree yesterday, I had an immediate intuitive feeling to do it. My husband was fine with it too, even though we have just finished a busy apricot season, making lots of jam.

So we came home with several hundred peaches and spread them out in trays and pans on a counter. My husband made a batch of jam in our bread machine, and it was tasty but runny. And we did have so much other jam. What to do?

This is where Steemit came in. I just got the idea to give away as many peaches as our neighbors and friends would take. Yesterday that was our next-door neighbor who is a really good cook and his sister who loves peaches, plus neighbors in another direction who came by to pick theirs out and stayed for a nice long chat.

Today the people who live uphill from us accepted enough to make a cobbler for all the kids and teens in that family. The guy who lives across town but is working on his place near us had a huge smile when he saw the size of the bag I was bringing. And the community activist in the next block would have stayed for dinner but his family was expecting him.

Great connections! Tomorrow some friends are coming over, and the day after too...

And I did make a yummy peach cobbler too.

Now doesn't that just remind you of Steemit?

Sort:  

wonderful! I bought pantryshares.com once for a similar purpose, but ended up letting it go due to not having time to organize the project, but I still own freepotluck.org and organitrade.com which I hope to use to help promote sharing and gleaning soon after my current irons in the fire are hot enough.

Great website names! I always have a bunch more websites than I have time...

We'll get there :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67