A One of a Kind Gift!

in #community6 years ago

There was this moment about three years ago when the Yeti, @freedompoint, went to "good game" me in the store...

But it wasn't me!

Standing there in the produce department, just trying to pick out a sandwich for dinner, was @borrowedearth.

The poor Yeti saw a woman that was my heighth with long brown dreads and assumed it was me! Little did he know, another crazy dreaded lady had moved into our area!

Fortunately, he caught himself just in time!

Well, if you know him at all, you know he's a talker who has never met a stranger.

So, we learned, standing there next to the strawberries, that she had started homesteading with her love not far from us. We were eager to start creating community with other like-minded people, so it was great to get to know them!

Now, especially through this past winter, we've visited more. I love getting to know her life story! And I'm even more excited to see what this next chapter of life holds for her!


She had mentioned before that she had wanted to crochet me a hat that fit my dreads, and I got to see a glimpse of it in a post...but today it was done, and she surprised me with it!


A one of a kind crocheted hat to hold my dreads!


She even helped me to put it on...I have so much hair!

So, thank you for sharing this special moment with me! I'm sure I'll have it forever!

With much love,
Stacie D

Sort:  

Do you have a story to go with why/how you started your dreads? If you haven’t already, you should do a post about it :)

Thank you for the blog idea! It's not a terribly long story, but I bet I can make it work!

Very good post. I like this. Presenting gifts is the sign that how much a person like you and take care of you, so it is good that you find one from your so called sister. Nice pictures.

Thank you! Yes, I definitely feel blessed to have her in my life!

You are welcome dear.

hello @freedomtowrite !!!

can we talk on discord ? please
i am there #orelmely7997

blessings

Hey @orelmely! @freedompoint was available on discord early this morning, so he reached out to you first 😊 Did you need me specifically, or will talking with him work?

all good !! I just wanted to ask him to drop the chicken!
we already have line in discord

blessings

Gorgeous photo. I love the crocheted hats. I have made a few things over the years, only basic triple stitch granny blankets and headbands, these are divine. As are you both, two peas in a pod.

Thank you!! Yeah, I've never crocheted before...but my mom is a whiz at it as well! I have co-knitted a scarf with the hubs, @freedompoint, before! Haha

I love hearing the story of how we met! Even more I love the friendship that has followed!

I'm so happy you like the hat! It's so fun to create for folks.

Green front and center to bring out your eyes, and the spiral to represent our ever expanding friendship!

Yes! It's perfect! I meant to add about the color and spiral, thank you for mentioning it!

That is so beautiful!!! Dreads are hard to tuck in on a good day!! Love to you both!!

Haha they are! Thank you!

Looks like you have found a "sister"! I think it is great that you have found someone living close to you that has the same interests.

That's funny you would say that! We decided a couple weeks ago that she was like a big sister to me! And thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57431.51
ETH 3085.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35