You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: UTOPIAN DREAMS #1: Another World is Possible

in #community7 years ago

Awesome to hear your vision! I definitely align with it. I have Fifth Sacred Thing on my bookshelf and it's been calling me to read it but lately things have been focused on a multitude of projects.

Let's open source everything and as Bucky Fuller would say, create the new way that makes the old obsolete. Here's to a new normal of Peace instead of war and shared prosperity instead of scarcity. Looking forward to your future posts and thoughts!

Sort:  

I looked up the quote you're referencing...

“You never change things by fighting the existing reality.
To change something, build a new model that makes the existing model obsolete.”
― R. Buckminster Fuller

Now that's some inspiration for utopia.

Yes, let's open source everything! (well, most things... more on that later... but down with patent law!)

Sending you big encouragement to go read The Fifth Sacred Thing when you have a chance. It is truly inspiring, and a really fun read that I had a hard time putting down. AND now there's a sequel out, that's just as good, and takes the story further! AND there's talk of making FST a movie.

Glad to have you in the discussion, @foodisfree

I love Bucky Fuller. Have you read any of his books? I still have quite a bit of his books on my list of things to read. I'll move Fifth Sacred Thing to the top of the list though! :) I've watched some of Starhawk's talks on youtube and really resonate with her.

I'm a big fan of hers, too. And she walks the walk-- for real. She also hosts gatherings and massive public rituals with the group Reclaiming, including spiral dance on Samhain, a public grieving ritual I found to be very, very powerful.

I haven't gotten to read Buckminster Fuller's works... so much to read, so little time!... but I did get to visit a co-housing village of Bucky domes in Davis, that's pretty amazing...

I definitely want to learn more about Samhain. I only first heard about it and what it represents last year. It's a beautiful ceremony. I can relate on there being too much to read! I guess that's a good problem to have. Lots of inspiration!

Yeah, it's so needed, especially in the USA and all places where we try to deny the reality of death. Reclaiming, which Starhawk is a longtime organizer with, hosts public rituals for Samhain and other occasions, holding down the pagan earth-based spirituality tradition.

PS Love the idea of "good problems," that'd be a great song name or something

I'll definitely check out Reclaiming. Thanks for the recommendation! Good problems would totally be a great song. You never know when inspiration will find you next!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.58
ETH 2760.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65