How Dead is This Place

in #community6 years ago

steemit.jpg

I was saddened that we couldn't get enough community support to get our coin to the top of the NetCoins give-a-way. I was surprised or shocked but saddened. We are getting ready to have our third Steemfest but couldn't even get 1% of the platform to go vote to get Steem listed? I am really concerned about our future when something like this happens especially when people were offering free up-vote for 30 seconds of your time it would have taken to vote.

Is anyone still using this place or is it all bot's, vote sellers, auto posters, scammers and follow for follow people?

Let me know if you are still alive.

Sort:  

On a serious note, yeah it's super depressing we only got 19k votes in 5 whole days. Assuming nobody cheated, this means an active community of less than 5k people. Depressing indeed. Of course many found a way to vote more times then what they were supposed to, so real numbers are even more depressing

1 million accounts controled by 1000 actual users. I have had this suspicion for a long time but this kinda proved it for me. Really sad to think I put the limited amount of effort I have into this platform. Maybe I will just turn to being a scammy asshole like the rest of these shit birds.
We should have been able to turn over 100,000 votes easily if we actually had a user base. Fuck on facebook you can get a million likes to save this pancake that has cancer but we can't get 50k here for something of use.

Still here! And I am not a bot.

I am sure if some of these guys could order you in a box to add batteries to you many would.

You are probably right.

I'm all up and running, and I'm doing my voting job. Hold on... did you said free upvote? Where?!

utopina-d said they were giving out big votes for users who proved they voted. It was a scam as all of their self-votes on comments are almost $60 but they sucked and gave other users like $1.50 or something.

Still breathing here! I agree, and wish more people would've voted for Steem and would interact more here. Time will tell. Hope you're doing well @erodedthoughts! If you'd ever like to be a guest on our interview show, let me know!

I will fire up the xBox in the next couple of days and we can talk. I have to be in the right mood and having a good day as far as back medication goes or I'll end up being a nightmare guest, lol.

Cool dude yeah I added you awhile back. MA1NE EVENT on Xbox Live.

i made a post about the exact same thing adding some numbers and reasons as to why this is happening. Because i don't wanna post the link here i will just say a few words.

We have 1+ million accounts that from them the daily active accounts are 55-60k (from the 1 million i repeat). Now exclude some bots and double accounts that many users have and let's say that the number goes down to 40-45k.

But what it means to be a daily active account according to the statistics. It means that in a single to do either a post,comment,upvote,transaction meaning that if you use autovoting services and curation trails you are considered to be a daily active account.

That means the total number of actual active accounts that interact and generally do things manually in my opinion is around 9-10k

Even if you take the contest for example, we had around 20k of votes and the average votes per person were around 4. 20k/4= 5k of unique voters and even if you double this it's 10k as i said. Note also that this contest as you mentioned too was promoted by everyone and it was an easy way both to earn money and do the process

And we are all well aware of the fact that people do shady shit all over steemit for free votes, so I think the real number is less than 1,000 daily. It will never be a real number and many people have 20+ accounts all selling sub 0.00 votes with programs like SmartSteem and the scams like SBI, its no wonder no-one can get ahead on this site.

that's why somehow we need to find actual active users and support each other (ofc if we like the content etc etc). It's way harder in practice though cause if we follow too many our feed turns into a nightmare and with our sp we can't upvote them all :( Also with communities and discord and post promotion channels it once again becomes difficult cause it will gather too many for one person to upvote.

The best thing would be once again a community that rewards active and quality users, but then again how can you measure quality? :P you may think something a quality that i don't and vice versa. Shit it became too complicated :P

How do you think SBI is a scam? i get some upvotes from them but it's shares others gave to me, never spent a steem for that purpose and generally i get the idea but never got deep into it, so i am curious now that you mentioned it

I have bought or given a total of 14 shares, I get a .01 upvote so that means 1400 votes to earn the money back. Yet if you look at the automated accounts they have voting their people and accounts get very healthy votes every day.

Sure you get a vote and that is all some people want, votes on every post but the time it will take you to see a gain will be well after steemit is dead.

so let's hope to earn shares from others :P and only gain "profit" :P

It would be more profit if they powered up and voted me one time.

I find @qurator to be a good community which finds quality posts...

I don't think it's anything new that retention rates here are bombastically low. Estimates even before the crappy market year, retention was something like <5%, I'd argue there are far, far more dead accounts than bots etc. just people coming, realising it's shit, leaving within a day =)

Did you just call our home shit? You evil man!

Don't shoot the messenger, bruh

Am still here... The place is really bringing me down though

Please follow

I’ve been actively stalking enough lately to see the voting and managed to cast mine [for STEEM obviously].

In my short time in the crypto game, it seems that while everyone (usually only those someohow invested in STEEM) is talking the STEEM blockchain up — the actual exposure of it is close to zero. Especially compared to some of these other “useless” cryptos. Like Verge was on a binance way before STEEM. So the outcome of the voting was not surprising to me.

I really only noticed the top two names up there STEEM / Verge so I don’t recall who the other players were... but it made me think:

What is verge? Do they have a community/social media platform akin (or not) to Steemit? How were they able to pull this off? Maybe they just created fake emails for voting? Or bought votes?

Alive and voted four times!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77