You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Scientific Summary Of Civil Discourse

in #community6 years ago

There's no use in starting a discussion if your mind is already made up.

This is very true. It needs to be about maintaining an open mind. Though in my case, I think there are times I take this to an extreme where it looks like I'm completely waffling between two decisions because of good points brought up on both sides. I suppose in this case it's best to step back and look deeper at each point and rank them (I'm now talking to myself as I'm writing this now).

And the 'destroy' polarization. Yup... I think it's more because they know people don't like to take the time to break things down, and would rather pick a winner. That just becomes a popularity contest, which may not be the best outcome...

Sort:  

You're absolutely right: just taking your time and stepping back as you say, often saves me from making stupid or untactful remarks. And that is actually much easier to do in written communication than verbal discourse.

Thanks, as always, for sharing your insights @eonwarped; I like when you talk to yourself :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35