You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should Our Steemit Wallet Holdings Be Private?

in #community6 years ago

I think there are several reasons to keep holdings private. Certain journalists and / or whistle blowers could be tracked simply by watching accounts. These are people that really need many of the aspects of this platform and I think it should be capable of protecting them.

Some people would like to keep income private to avoid taxes from their governments. I think there is nothing wrong with that. I would like to see platforms like this dissolve governments and I'm pretty confident they will.

There are likely plenty of unforeseen reasons as well. I appreciate transparency, but with blockchain tech, we can have that with privacy. That is its killer feature. We should use that.

Sort:  

Certain journalists and / or whistle blowers could be tracked simply by watching accounts.

That sounds ominousAF, what would that look like, on a hypothetical?

Some people would like to keep income private to avoid taxes from their governments. I think there is nothing wrong with that. I would like to see platforms like this dissolve governments and I'm pretty confident they will.

That's called Tax Evasion. If you want to challenge taxes the last thing you want to do is evade taxes, if you don't want to pay taxes there's exemptions and exceptions and procedure to Revoke your Benefits as citizen(a term of servitude) and therefore the burden of Taxes won't apply to your income.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67073.12
ETH 3507.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18