My first couple of weeks on Steemit & what I've learnedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #community7 years ago

I've been actively using Steemit for around 20 days now and I have to say that I'm really amazed at the results so far. My earnings might still be extremely small compared to the majority of Steemians here, but I can clearly see some growth already. Most importantly, blogging here has been a very fun experience overall!



Building a network


This has to be the key to success here on Steemit, without a solid network it's almost impossible to get your posts noticed and upvoted. It's very important to read other people's content and leave well thought out comments. Spamming with short replies will only get you flagged and people will not want to read any of your blogs if you do this. One of the other benefits you get from commenting on other people's work is that you can often have meaningful discussion about things you're both passionate about.


Tools and bots


This might be somewhat of a controversial topic among the community, but I think it's an important one to address. As a beginner, it might be best not to worry about bots and buying upvotes. You can focus on creating good content and afterwards you can decide for yourself if you want to boost your posts.

I have decided that I will give my own new blog posts one single upvote through minnowbooster and leave it at that. On some of my older posts, I have done some tests with other bots, but I prefer to grow my account more organically.

A tool that has been very useful for me is Steemfollower (referral link). I've been using it mainly to quickly find good content, since the user-base is very limited in comparison to steemit's. Other users might also randomly upvote your content, but it's not really a vote exchange. You only upvote quality content, which I think is the most important aspect of tools like these.

Steem Now and Steemd are also tools that I couldn't do without anymore. Steem Now lets you see which users have upvoted your blogs and comments and you can check out your bandwidth through Steemd.


Hopes for the future


Finally, I want to share with you my goals and hopes for the future of my Steemit journey. It would simply be amazing if I could reach 100 followers, which shouldn't be a problem at the rate my account is growing now. More important is that I keep improving my writing, not being a native English speaker does mess up some of the grammar. Nothing that can't be fixed though, I'll just keep learning!

Furthermore, I just want to find more interesting blogs to read and more people to interact with. Content seems to be getting added at a pretty fast pace, so it's easy to miss good authors who might not have gotten many upvotes.

I hope that I can keep adding interesting content and that all of you will also prosper on Steemit!


Image sources


Wikipedia
Image license: Public Domain


Sort:  

i gotten 50 followers in 7 days i am figuring its 7 per day on average

For me it's a bit slower, but I'm sure I will get to 100 in the next couple of weeks :)

yeah some people can do 100 in a week its possible

I think it is really nice of you that you want to grow your account in a more organically way, even though is way harder it can help you appreciate things and get more honest audience.

Keep up the good work

GREAT job in such a short time!

Another steemit tool I would recommend is steemworld.org this site offers so much information all on one screen.

And you are correct- communityand building your network and brand a key to steemit success.

Good luck!

Hadn't heard about Steemworld yet, going to check that one out :-)
Another tool that I have just discovered is steemthat.com, very friendly people there who are more than happy to help.

I am about 3 months into the journey however the first two was like I forgot about steem over the last 3 weeks I have become super active and even my kids and wife are joining to help build the community. Good luck on your journey the tools you have listed are helpful thanks

Keep at it, I would say :-) It helps when you get lots of feedback from people.

Great post. I am a new member just like you and I can relate to your struggles with english. And I totslly agree, it fun to post things here. The community here is chill and there isnt any fear of receiving any harsh criticism.
Best of luck with your goal of reaching 100 follower. I hope you will make another informative post when that happens.

Will definitely make an update post, but maybe at 200 followers ;-)

Congratulations @daan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @daan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58589.32
ETH 2636.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45