You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Community and Vision: going forward

in #community6 years ago

I would argue that most good ideas need at least a nudge, and often much more. For example, I have influenced some big changes in my workplace by implementing carefully planned influence campaigns, and on a more personal level, spent quite a bit of energy pushing for a neighborhood block party that is now self-sustaining institution. Passivity often leads to the status quo dominating how things are done.

Sort:  

well that is what the whole platform is built on, promotion, of either content, ideas or invention. its a double edged sword because promotion tends to rely on money and influence. hence, we have people in public office not because they are necessarily the most qualified - merely the most willing to pay for the position.

does that mean you condone force?

Force is a fairly abstract term. But to get technical, given that any force elicits an opposite force, I find that is not usually beneficial. I am a believer in Gradual Progress, which is more about engaging in an appropriate amount of action in any given situation. I don't think you can force change. But presenting ideas like the ones in this post, in my opinion, is more in line with what I believe is an important part of any social evolution.

yes or no would do.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67646.55
ETH 3796.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52