[BuddyUP] : You guys rock!

in #community7 years ago (edited)

First off, I’d just like to say, the reaction from the community has been amazing. We didn’t expect to have such great response in just a couple of days. I've been seeing some very interesting people joining the server and have already been seeing some quality blogs that I might have missed before!

I can see that many of you realize the importance of genuine connections and are looking forward to getting involved in the BuddyUP community.

light-sign-typography-lighting.jpg

There are a few small speed bumps in the way before I can get our Buddy Request channel set-up and I’m looking for some help to get it ironed out, but that won't stop the ball rolling.

I've got a bite!


Our ‘catch-of-the-day’ feature will be starting at some point next week once I’ve learned some more about our members and can have a good look through their blogs.
This channel will feature a different person every day and will show off what they do, who they are and what they’re interested in.

fishing-fishing-tackle.jpg

Hopefully, this will help other members of the group find familiarities with our featured user and can get them discussing similar views or interests before I get the Buddy Request working.

Tell me more!


If you have missed the introduction to BuddyUP you can find it here but rather than hopping links, I’ll let you know of some other resources and features that we have implemented for the community.

  • grab-a-guide - it does what it says on the tin. We have a beginners section for the initial struggles of the Steemit learning curve. Then we have a channel that displays more advanced guides for anybody who is confident with what they already know and are wanting to change and adapt to some different techniques.

  • gratitude-today - this is a channel that is for the users to share what they are grateful for. Being thankful is important and it keeps you real. I’m going to be sharing in this channel daily and anybody else is more than welcome. It is not a requirement to stay in the community but it is encouraged, it’s a great perspective changer and promotes positivity.

  • post-spot - oh, a post-promotion channel? You can’t be a successful Steemit discord server without a post-promotion channel. They can be a completely useless channel that just resorts to spam or they can be highly successful when they are utilized as a curation train.

This decision is up to you guys. I’m not going to kick you out of the community because you haven’t commented and voted on somebody's post before you have dropped yours in because quite frankly, I don’t want our aim to be centered around this.
There is a lot of great servers that heavily focus on curation. Our aim is going to be learning from each other and developing stronger relationships. Anybody with half a brain knows that showing genuine interest will likely warrant the same response.

Drop a message on the one above you, scan through the channel and look for something that interests you or post in different content from other users. Let's just try to not resort to mindless spamming in the effort of getting likes.

pexels-photo-209712.jpeg

Also as a side note, I personally find peoples post promotions a lot more endearing when they give a brief intro to what the post is going to be about. I’m a clickbait flyswatter and even super catchy titles and thumbnails get swatted if they don’t show some value that it will add to my life. Try to interest people, what value is it going to give to us?

  • request-a-bud - currently in progress but this is going to be the bread and butter of our server. Every 48 hours you can drop into the channel and request a random name of somebody on the server.

This is your chance to approach and start speaking to them so you can learn a little bit about someone else and share what you are all about. They might be new, they could have some great tips for you or you might both love the same things. He you can find a friend that you might not otherwise of found or approached by just chatting to them in a populated general chat.

In time, I want to be able to reward users who have requested buddy’s and give them an incentive to do it. It’s not a surprise the way our society is, people want something for their troubles.
It's wrong, but I don’t live in a bubble. I've had a few ideas so far but it’ll show up in time.

The one thing that springs to mind is ‘Buddy Write Ups’. You’ve found a new friend, you love what they do and to help them out, you are going to write a post about them. This gives you some content to write about, you’re helping somebody gain more exposure and no doubt you'll put a big smile on their face when they see how supportive you are.

What do you think?


Small baby steps to start of course but the concept is there and we’re working hard on it. I’m looking for people who are interested in overlooking the server and helping out with various features. If you think you are right for the job, hit me up! You can direct message me on Discord and we can chat about it.

I’d just like to say thanks again for all the wonderful feedback and I’m looking forward to the months in front of us. Keep on steeming and have yourself a lovely weekend!

Incase you missed it, here's our discord link.


All pictures are taken from pexels.com

Sort:  

Just joined you guys on discord! Awesome! I have a horrible cold today, so, I'll come back and check this out with more detail when my head is more clear! Like the concept!

Amy

Glad to have you on board! Hope you are feeling a bit better later.

You've got my support, @calumam! You are attempting a huge undertaking - I hope you don't have a day job because you have got a lot of work ahead of you, LOL. It looks like you actually have a team of people helping get this new Discord Server underway, and that's fantastic! Everything in better when we work together to build something amazing, right? Like with your fish picture (LOL).

I do think that you've got a great idea, and are going to succeed if you can hang in there through the early days of development ( I am confident you will!)

I've upvoted and resteemed this article as one of my daily post promotions for the @mitneb Curation Trail Project. It will be featured in the @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report for 11 FEB 2018.

Cheers!

Got to work smart not hard! I've considered the sustainability of the server and have already began working on the scalability issues of creating a community like this.

Automation and trusted delegation can help us maintain the integrity of the community and will let us all be able to focus on what matters, connecting with each other.

I've actually only been working on the server side of things by myself so far but last night I brought @svemirac onto the admin team to help issue roles and advice to the new members.
The support and notice from The STEEM engine is amazing, it's helping a lot with getting the word out there. Little steps at a time!

We have got an amazing bunch of people in the community so far and they are doing a great job with promoting and sharing the word. You guys rock!

The early development is super fun! So much to do and the benefit of meeting like-minded people while it all goes on is a double plus.
I think because of the focus surrounding the community, the message speaks for itself and people can recognise that. I'm just another guy and I can only encourage others to adopt a similar mentality to me when it comes to connecting and bringing people together. We are all in it together :)

I'm super appreciative of your support in the early days of the community, it won't go unchecked!
Thank you for the exposure on your blog and server!

The change in fish picture has made such a difference, great advice, it's the little changes that make the most difference.

I'm definitely interested in the "grab-a-guide" feature. Seems like the BuddyUp Community answers a question that I've had in my mind during my first week here on Steemit which is, how exactly does one build a community here? I dig your focus and intention. I'll check out the group.

Steem On!

Amazing comment.

It's hard to get over the initial learning curve but once you get into it the swing of things, everybody is looking out for each other. I'm glad you are interested in BuddyUP and I'll do my best to help you out!

I just joined your discord channel. Good work.
I think that community projects are very important for steemit. Good to hear, that there is a new one!

Happy to have you along with us mate! :)

joined on thursday, what good work you have got going.

Getting there pal! Hopefully, I'll get the BOT coded through the week and we can get our features going. See you around!

Congratulations! This exceptional post has been featured in Episode 8 of The STEEM Engine Express Podcast. Click the link to hear what I had to say, and keep up the good work!

That is such good news! Thanks for the exposure for our community. I really appreciate it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48