What is this?

in #community6 years ago

Found these heavy, aged and well worn mystery items.

<



Large link chains with heavy leather.

The metal plate is embossed with a stamp reading:

PAT 1879584

PAT PEND

Do you know what this is?

Sort:  

https://patents.google.com/patent/US1879584

This invention relates to an anti-skid device of-the type which is adapted to be placed around an automobile tire, in one or more places, in order to enable the operator to get a the car out of a bad position.

Brilliant...I think that's exactly what it is :)

Excellent! That's what this is: 1931 tire traction anti-skid device!

Thank you!

Maybe in an antique shop they can tell you what it is!

Smart idea :) I would have visited one if the community couldn't figure it out.

Turns out they are tire traction chains patented in 1931 :)

Looks like my grandma's old chastity belt.

Am I the only one wondering how it is that you know what your Grandma's chastity belt looks like?!

Just one of the many many mental scars from my childhood that made me the man I am today.

Never knew that was even around back then for automobiles to get out of a bad situation. Thanks for sharing this @arbitrarykitten

Pretty cool, aye?! I'm happy I found it! I'm going to talk with the local antique car club. They might get a kick out of having a look (and possibly playing around with) these! I'll take lots of photos because this will probably be the last time these chains get to hang out with the cars they were designed for :)

I hope it's not someone old kinky toy lol Is it a farm tool?

Lol! These are anti skid traction chains for tires. Patented in 1931 and sold to the public in 1932, I believe they were for Ford Model A and T.

Oh lawl. Yeah, I was WAY off. On both guesses. WAAAAY off.

LOL!!!

I'm late to the mark, but, yeah, it's an anti skid for cars in 1932.
But, with my warped imagination I can make use of it today.
Mwah ha ha.
steemsig.png

Maybe a tree climbing rig/harness. That's my guess!

Great guess!

They are actually tire traction chains patented in 1931!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63376.09
ETH 2692.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59