13 Key Points From Terry's (@Surpassinggoogle) talk at Steem-Lagos Workshop

in #community7 years ago (edited)

IMG_2627.JPG

The just-concluded Steem-Lagos workshop was a massive success, it was a privilege to meet and network with the leaders of the Nigerian Steemit community. Buff industry leaders such as @Ejemai of @stach, @oluwoleolaide and his @steem-lagos crew and @fisteganos of One Qualitative. It was the ideal atmosphere for cross-pollination of ideas, learning and networking and selfie-taking. I learnt a lot from the workshop generally, but I learnt more from the sessions virtual mentor of the day @surpassinggoogle.

This, to me, was the highlight of the day. You could clearly see the raw passion, but yet deep technical knowledge and expertise @surpassinggoogle possess; all he wants to do is impart, help and build and create things that will benefit everyone. Clearly, a patriot, with a high energy level when talking about his hope for a better life for Nigerians. His love for the Steemit community is infectious.

agbona steem-lagos.PNG

I had the privilege to ask him a question during the Q & A session, and these were the major key points I got from his response as well as his other responses during his talk.


My question was

“What were some of the things you did as a Minnow/Newbie, that played a key role in your success on the Steemit Platform”

1. Share your Ideas to your audience, ask for them to provide feedback - The potential on Steemit is enormous, with your ideas out there; the right person could easily find you and the right time. Then opportunities are created regardless of how long it takes

2. Leverage – You need to have something to stake before you can get an investment or do business with a whale. You must have something to stake, be it your reputation. For they have everything to lose. Your reputation is your leverage, value and guard it.

3. Converse! Converse!! Converse!!! – A simple conversation can create enormous opportunities

4. Steemit isn’t all about Blogging

5. Bring your pre-existing business to Steemit – Build your reputation on Steemit with your brand or product.

6. Have a bit of strategy, it goes a long way

7. Make your vision limitless. Utilize the feedback you get from your Steemit audience to evolve

8. Words rule the world – Let there be light

9. Learning is the ultimate earning

10. Community is very important. Allow people to connect with the person of you

11. Competition is for losers, it's not worth it

12. Use the writing process to find yourself and establish your purpose

13. Always take the high road.
Play, write, learn, read other people’s post and always take the high road

That will be all for now, watch this space for a follow-up post on the Steem-Lagos Workshop event

Upcoming post: Steem-Lagos Workshop 1.0 - Was Awesome!

Sort:  

isnt leverage the state where you have command and authority over others as you use their time for your own use? it sounds cruel but leverage is like that I know, power becomes cruel at any form if misused BTW

Well, you're right. But in some business transactions, especially one that involves investments, both parties need to have something to gain or lose. So yes, some forms of leverage are cruel, while others are not. But I believe leverage in a business setting is intended to keep both parties invested in a venture.

The context of this particular leverage is different. The highlight is your own substance and reputation more than anything like finances, times etc. This is most a summary of an entire convo, so the context of this leverage is different.

Absolutely!

@surpassinggoogle. I agree with you on this. Is so different and informative. What we have here is what @agbona could pick from the meet up. That means someone else will surely pick something different.The most important thing is that we are learning from it. Nice job @abgona and thank for your love @surpassingoogle.

I believe the word "leverage" is relative. It depend on the context in which it is being used. In this context, i think it means taking advantage of opportunities presented to you by an individual who has the capacity or who is in a position to assist. This is without an adverse effect on any party.

I stand to be corrected.

I was thinking the same too @blackholerevolt but I think @surpassinggoogle was right too, @agbona is talking about a different leverage.

good work..god bless you all

Thank you!

Awesome gathering. It would have been nice to be there.

Yeah, it would have.

This is brilliant. Well done to you all @agbona. I really would like to meet @surpassinggoogle. We should have him at our Steem-Ibadan Workshop, @tojukaka right?

✌ yeah
That's possible
That would be cool...

I agree with you, it will really be great to have a workshop in Ibadan. Like @surpassinggoogle rightly said, community is everything. I believe the whole Nigeria community will there to give their support.

I can be there if markzuck allows.

@surpassinggoogle. It will be a thing of joy to have you at the steem-ibadan Workshop. That will also be like a dream come through. It will be an honor to have you there talk to us as well.

@tojukaka . It will be over cool if there's a word like that. @surpassinggoogle is such an inspiration on this platform.

It's definitely going to be great to have @surpassinggoogle in attendance. In fact, I am cancelling all appointments and engagements in preparation for that day and time.

It's great to have met you in person @agbona. He said gidigbam somewhere... You didn't write that. :)

Lols...Maybe I'll include it in my follow-up post.

I learned a lot by just reading this. Converse converse converse! Without it, you would not make any connections.

Absolutely. These are just merely key points, he said so much more!

Even the key point listed above are good enough to work it and make more impact on this platform. @surpassinggoogle will always make sense no matter what.
Thanks for sharing this @agbona. Looking forward to more from you.

Thanks guys for reading and commenting...it means a lot to me

Nice meeting you dear...

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

(Has to be my most weird comment but it’s allowed 😀)

Truly we all learnt same thing couldn't type anything else🙈...

The man is smart, like his summary killed it. I read it and learned

Well, we are all learning from you (The Best)

Very smart... Will still write mine soon.

Bro, did you know that you have a very nice personality in person. More pronounced

If only I can one day get the chance to meet myself. lol

But coming from you, it means a lot. (by the way, i tried reaching you on all channels I know of. shoot me a message when you can).

Okay, i will. I am mostly on the discord

Very true and now I will stalk him the more...😂😂 maybe I am kidding @fisteganos .

The pleasure is all mine

Yup! it has to be, I even upvoted it sef

lol. and then you went ahead to reply under the wrong comment. lol

It was nice seeing you bro!

Steeming on mobile can be frustrating ya know...and the pleasure is all mine.

Hahaha, i am with the #untalented family now, so "flaws" allowed. Talk soon

Haha! Flaws are allowed - for now.

Nice seeing you darling. With your cap-swag

Oh you even saw me🙈😂 thank you so much... Nice seeing you also, felt fulfilled when I saw you on screen.

Yes @agbona, he never disappoints I guess....both in person and onscreen he's a walking encyclopedia full of value., love and words...

That's absolutely right, he is a great guy!

Would love to meet him in person.

@agbona. Thank you guys for representing Lagos very well. Some of are Lagosians but living in the diaspora like Ibadan. Lol.
Ibadan here we come. Nice job guys.

Lmfao!
Lagosians living in the diaspora, diaspora being Ibadan...

Thanks! Hoping we can bring @surpassinggoogle to Nigeria soon, then we'll have a proper national event for the Nigerian Steemit Community..

Hi @agbona already moved the motion to start a #bringbackoursurpassinggoogle protest but no body is listening to me @surpassingooggle is too much of a wonderful personality not to be here plus i noticed he is very informed about all the trends in nigeria including slangs and songs he even knows tatashe and ata rodo.
Let me come and be going before he comes and tell me banana fall on me
😎😎😎

Lmfao...
I low key laughed my ass off...

Yeah he is an awesome guy, and I second your motion #BringBackOurSurpassingGoogle.

Great friend. Good luck to the community in nigeria. Our greetings from Indonesia.

Thanks!

Great I wish I could be there

It was a great event.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57800.38
ETH 3127.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40