Thinking about the future, User Issued Tokens on #steem. Trying to explain my vision...

So I am clicking my way into steemit.com for the first time, and get prompted by three options: Do you want to open a private, company or community-account? At least that is how I envision the first meeting with steemit, but we have so many clever minded people on this beautiful platform, so I am kind of interested in what all of you think about this new tool that is being developed to make steem even greater then it is already. Here is my illustration:

illustration steemit community tokens by fyrstikken.png

As a user issued token, I do believe we should at least have a reservation for namespace, so that nobody can make for example steemspeak-tokens or fyrstikken-tokens just to avoid squatting. But I also think about maybe label accounts as private, business or organisation, since I am pretty sure many businesses and organisations want to join the ever-growing steem-network as well.

I can´t wait for the first beta-round, but meanwhile - What do you think about all this token talk?

COMMENT BELOW, RESTEEM & TWEET

Sort:  

I promise to cash out some toilet rolls soon for a camouflaged gaming headset on Amazon after my vacation in Poland is over. I want to speak with you and everyone on Steemspeak! The toilet roll quality is very good here in Poland. They tend to scent every toilet roll going for some unknown reason?? Speak soon my fellow bowl cleaner!<3

I like the community idea for sure. It may be nice for a small town community especially a remote one to have a collective account.
Not so sure about the company one though as I fear the infiltration of big corporations onto this platform may end being a negative addition. If big corps get involved in time they may try to steer us in a direction we don't want to go.
Maybe just my tin foil hat talking though.

For company accounts, I envision that getting a lot of use from small companies & startups looking for a space to establish blogs for themselves, perhaps with their own corporate branding / logos / etc. Right now we see a lot of crypto projects in particular using Medium for their official blogs, and it's always been something of a mystery to me why they don't use Steemit (which seems like it would resonate well with their target audiences). Maybe this initiative would make Steemit look more attractive to such organizations.

Agreed and it that sense I believe it would be a brilliant addition to the platform.
Entrepreneurs could market themselves to their target demographic easily.
As long as we don't see the Big Oil, Big Pharma, Banks etc. We don't want predatory corporations ruining what is a unique platform.

Unfortunately I don't think there's any real way to keep those types of companies out, not if you want to remain true to Steemit's ideal of allowing anyone to use the platform as they see fit without fear of censorship. But large organizations like that probably won't pay any attention to Steemit until it reaches Facebook levels of popularity. So for now I don't think we've got anything to worry about, and by the time the platform is that mature there will be other concerns I'm sure.

Yes, I think there will be other concerns, besides I don't think there is anything that can be done, Big Company X buys a couple of million in Steem and boy would they have clout here, but hey, whales have that kind of power now only these companies would have more power, maybe I'd get rich upvoting their promotional articles.

Agreed, therefore I suggest vigilance to ensure that if larger corps partake they don't become powerful enough to set the narrative of how the platform evolves. Similar to how the advertisers are now driving YouTube censorship.
And yes once Steemit reaches Facebook levels I'm sure problems will ensue.
One day at a time, eh?

Yeh I'd hate for them to come in and ruin things, I think as we have so many here then any kind of activity that is not helping the Steemit community at it's core will probably get downflagged.

Wow @fyrstikken kudos! I just realized your account is worth over $1 mil. :) nice

Loading...

Can't wait to get my hands on em

  • Frank TheTank

I can see myself using a business account in the future.

I don't know, sound brilliant to me. Tell us more.
@bullionstackers

Good idea.

That would be facebook user account, business account and facebook groups. Add celebrity account or verified account....in many senses its all about migrating FB users to this platform. i donot think people will have the time and willingness to have several social network account and visit them often

Its great idea...
images (3).jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65809.08
ETH 3604.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54