Is RE-Steeming On Steemit Considered Bad Behaviour ?

in #community-support7 years ago (edited)

Good question for all of us! What is so called bad behaviour anyways @mindhunter? But thanks for bringing this topic to my attention.

Hello my serial resteemer! 7/10 i.e. 70% of your last 10 posts were resteems! Last week it was 90%!! Terrible behaviour from the Mamma :D 

I have to admit that I was a little bit shocked, not knowing that re-blogging might be bad on steemit! Is it ? 

I let you decide and wait for your feedback. 

I will explain a bit why I enjoy helping interesting new and older members in our community and their great posts nobody seems to notice. 

Helping newbies on this platform is essential for me. 

I found my way to do so and nobody can stop me :) 

I decided at some point to re-steem articles, I feel deserve better exposure. First, I wanted to keep my blog clean with my own posts only. I changed my mind because I am not the selfish kind of girl when it comes to promoting great content. 

I read so many good articles daily but see them drowing in the pool of the trendsetting superstars.  

I do not count on whales favours nor votes but of course thankful when they find me. Out of my own experience I suggest and advice to build your own network, sub communities and get your loyal followers.  

I worked hard since June 2016 and proud of my 873 more / less fans. I thank you for your votes and therefore inspiration as well as motivation to keep on steeming and powering-up to make this platform stronger every day. 

Its so much fun to be here with you, collecting my yummy steem peanuts, learning about cryptocurrency I never heard of before I joined this blockchain. 

My great grand children might love to hear some interesting stories in the future.  

Who needs Facebook unless your clients, family and friends are there posting their special moments you need to know? I joined all of those social platforms since Friendster and My Space but happy that I landed on that Moon. 

  


Toucheeee my dear critique @mindhunter chest fighter ! lol !!!

I gave you a great image to work with!

My panties look a bit different though 


Mammasitta's on Steemit Chat 

I call all fabulous women authors on steemit to join my chat group called Mammasittas ! (Boyz with big pants also welcome) 

Feel free to promote your articles and our girls will help up-voting and commenting as well as re-steeming.. 

Feel free to use the tag #mammasittas in your posts that I do not overlook your articles. 

Yours with compassion, love and smiles 


Mammasitta 

SteemMeow your way !  

   



Sort:  

I don't resteem as it clogs up my blog list of what I posted.

I feel the same but what to do if you want to support others as well? Do you have other ways to help new members? Isn't it important to keep them at the platform? I saw too many good ones leave

I support the ones I like with the up vote and that is it. I want my followers to be able to review my blog for my work not others.

Your upvotes are very powerful! Mine are not 😉

Do you know any of the bitcoin group in Bali? I am thinking of staying somewhere not too expensive next winter and would love to use bitcoin while there.

I am not sure if it's possible to use bitcoins in Bali but I could introduce you to a few people who live there and also authors on steemit . At the moment I am in Vienna. DM me on steemit chat. Also @rok-sivante might know some people. He lived there for 5 years. I need to look up their avatars. If you need a driver who shows you the best places I can suggest mine . He works with me and my airbnb guests for many years.

Thanks I have never used Steemit chat but do want to learn more about Bali...I have found a group their that is a small bitcoin community. Bali might be too expensive for me to kill 2-3 months - probably Panama, Cuba or other places in Asia like Cambodia or Thailand. I want to live under $700 CAD or $600 USD per month for food and board.

It's possible but Bali is a bit more expansive than other Asian destinations. There is a small bitcoin community in Ubud . Homestays are cheap, food as well. A scooter is approx 50 USD per month. Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand might be better for you

Steemit UI shall get a separate channels for ReSteem and own posts. For exactly the same reason like you I almost never ReSteem. Too keep the channel clean. But mine is relatively clean since I do like to ReSteem to support some of the articles I really really love. And ReSteem by others is almost a must for new users and small minnows to get some support/votes for their posts, since the all-you-can-eat model of Steemit UI/channels (and Busy.org) is not really helping visibility of posts.

Thx for keeping the conversation going.

Your welcome :)

Several members I already see active in asking for better UI, and I'm doing that as well and I just hope someone in STINC will notice and put good stuff on the short term roadmap so that we as the users can have a much better user experience.

...and we will get there. I think the platform is great and time will develop it like a fine wine!

The concept is fantastic! No doubt about that!
Software, backend/frontend development takes time. The backend is now worked on further to get better scalable and all as far as I understand, and that is super important before growth.. I surely hope also the frontend get some attention soon. But I hear you, STINC must have a plan. I just would like to understand that plan :)

Mamma I am not a woman but still support you... ha...ha. ! Anyway, sometimes resteemed is good idea, when we found a good posting, Why do not share this good stuff to other ? I believe in "good karma will produce good karma" if we do it wisely. Anyway I when want to read again that good posting, just look at our feed and we will found it. Bagus mama ! :)

You are one of my super loyal fans and I really appreciate your friendship so much. I agree with you more than 1000% . We know what Karma means . right ? @macksby

Everything is considered bad behavior by somebody. Personally, I appreciate having resteemed articles in my feed.

Meeeee toooo !
Who decides what's bad is my question.

Personally, I don't think that it is bad. I will actually feel honoured that someone keep re-steeming my posts :p Meaning I give good contents for people to see

I feel the same as you do and always so happy when I realize somebody liked my articles ! Let's NOT stop :)

I think reSteeming helps with spreading content and getting information that isn't on our feeds out there! Not forgetting the great people you discover. Totally onboard with resteems. :)

You just got a new follower :) Nice to meet you and glad to know that you agree to discover more forgotten Steemians.

Do whatever you want. Let me get my bat and take care of this.

Hahaha ......cool !
What you think ? Is it bad behaviour to resteem? I am truly confused. Thanks for your support always.

Man kann auch alles überkomplizieren ;-) deswegen habe ich das sofort demonstrativ resteemed ;-)
Das was aber toll wäre wenn jemand auf deinen Blog kommt hat er 2 Optionen.

  1. Er sieht deine Posts als erstes und
  2. daneben gibt es einen button wo man deine resteems sehen kann.
    Das wäre das einzigste was ich zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt in diesem Zusammenhang für verbesserungsmäßige halte .
    Ansonsten finde ich gerade, im hier und im jetzt, resteemen voll in Ordnung.
    You are welcome :-)

I agree with you very much so but I heard it's not possible to create 2 blog pages . I would be very interested to see such improvements

Schade das wäre ein tolles Feature gewesen. Wahrscheinlich geht das blockchaintechnisch nicht.

Ja und ob !
maybe somebody from @steemit will see my post and has an answer

The whole reason the resteem feature was introduced to steemit was to help good content get noticed. That is what its stated purpose was. How can using it be bad?
There were some who suggested creating a new feed just for resteems so your own posts do not get mixed with resteems. Nothing ever happened with that idea. And then one day the active tag disappeared which I miss.
Steem and resteem to your hearts content.

these separate feed i heard of too and it would make a lot sense, need to bring that to the table again

Exactly ! We really need this option

I fully agree with a separate feed for the ReSteems. I do ReSteem but limited to keep my post channel kind of clean, as well to allow myself to better search back in my own post feed. But, ReSteem is really much required in the current UI design to give good post visibility. I think that a lot of good posts of especially newbies but also the whole lot of small minnows get lost too quickly to get even any attention other than from some other newbies and auto voters.

Does anyone know why the removed the active feed? It really helped get more exposure and then one day without any discussion it was gone.

I guess I was to late signing up to Steemit to get experience of the active feed. What was it doing?

Every time someone made a comment on your post it would go to the top of the active feed. This was a separate feed from Trending and Hot and was called Active. It did not matter how old the post was if someone commented on it, it went back to the top of the Active feed.

o wow, that is a great channel/feed indeed! hmmm, can't think of a reason why removing it. maybe it could be gamed too much? bots posting comments at right times? when done on specific posts (the bot owners and users posts) this would give tremendous advantages to the few who have bots or have access to bots?

That could be a reason but bots could game the Hot and Trending feeds too if used correctly

Correct, but different parameters are used to populate the Trending and Hot channels. I don't know the algorithms behind the channels, but I guess the hot channel has number of votes in the formula, and the Trending has payout in the formula. To game payout, you need a lot of voting power, so that is more difficult to manipulate. To game votes, that is indeed what happens all over with the vote trains, trails and guilds. Note: most guilds, trains etc are not bad and are not there to game (ie for own profit), but it is manipulating the system in such a way a human poster/curator can not do.

Yes it was perfect because it showed who is really interacting and not just autovoted without any comments nor interest in the post.

Very true! Don't you think this also happens also now on the trending page. I am tired to see the same people there

I do remember those days

Why did they take it away and didn't even debate it first? I liked that feature. Since it's removal the interactions on my Open Mic contest went down.

Sorry to hear. Without the auto voters I also would get lost in seconds. is the contest still running ? @edje we should invite @luzcypher on our discord music channel

Yes, the contest is still running. I'm on discord as a curator for steemtrail. @music-trail , @gardening-trail , and @travel-trail specifically. What channel are you on Discord?

I am also autovoting for my favourite authors because I don't want to miss out on their articles I usually end up reading later. All others keep on drowing and yes the active tag was great.

I am with you on this 1000% but I heard that this feature to split is not possible . I am not sure why. Maybe @gtg can explain it better .

Of course, it's possible. Ity may not be a priority right now with other more pressing issues but it is possible.

Such a cute post. If you (and you do) resteem interesting stuff it is fine!

so good to see your name on my posts again! I mostly reblog about my personal interests such as Bali, Vienna and just important content or for support of great unnoticed authors who need help. I love to "abuse" and use my followers to expose good content.

I started with too much resteems a lot told me - then I reduced it but think all that helps newbies get started is awesome.

I still don't think it's wrong to help other people's content and it makes me happy to see that some really get more votes. I don't understand why it can be too much to support but that's just my opinion. I usually only reblog about topics I want to see on my own blog about Cool Art, Bali, Vienna :) and of course helpful tools for steemit. To call me lazy is simply off because I post a lot also myself.

You do it perfect @mammasitta - no one should call you lazy at all - tell me know and i will have a word with them (ok i think i need to read more - damn vacation....lol).

Haha no worries ! I can't take it . Enjoy your holidays

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85