Want To Create an Uncensored Community Group? Ureka.org is Getting Ready for Steem Integration!

in #communities6 years ago

For those who don't know, I have run a social network called Ureka.org - Earth Heart Community for a number of years. If you want to create a space for a group to function in advance of Steem having communities added - do consider checking it out!

urekamountain.jpg

Ureka has had the general features needed by social networks and a lot of people love it, however, unfortunately it was heavily censored (blocked) by Google's algorithms for no known or good reason and so my efforts became somewhat futile in trying to build it. If I pointed people to it via social media I generally got good feedback and some people tried to migrate their friend there from Facebook - but as is often the case with Steem (even when money is on the table), people won't leave their comfort zone.

Since I have been on Steem I have focused on building Steem into an effective base for social networks to operate from and I think we are close to having that. I have planned to integrate an SMT into ureka once I know they are stable and all the relevant legal issues are taken care of. I see the future of my online creativity and sharing as being via the Steem blockchain and specifically also via Ureka which is:

  • Uncensored: Currently I am the only admin and I will not censor anyone unless they are obviously committing crime that's going to get me into trouble if I don't act.
  • Focused: Highly oriented towards healing, balancing and evolving. It is a library of information relating to these topics on all levels.
  • Friendly: Generally people are respectful and are not there to troll in any way.

You can currently create groups on Ureka and build up a library of information which is far more usable and accessible on typical social networks. You see, Facebook and similar sites have been deliberately designed to tap into aspects of psychology and the brain which result in you being addicted to using them and part of this is constantly refreshing the content that is posted in your newsfeed. This makes it difficult to share information over long time periods and effectively prevents long, meaningful conversations being had as used to be the case when 'forums' where the norm online.

ureka logo square.png

If you want to create a community on Steem, you are welcome to start it off at Ureka.org and co-exist on both networks. Once I am able to, I will merge Steem with Ureka in the way that those involved most want and we should have the best of both worlds!

Let me know if you have any feedback of any kind on Ureka. I have only recently gotten back into making code changes to it and so while parts are a bit aged, I put enough time into it in the past to make it passable even without much work on it for 2 years!

Wishing you well,
Ura Soul


I am currently among the top 100 in the Steem User Authority Table

Vote @ura-soul for Steem Witness!


vote ura-soul for witness

View My Witness Application Here


(Witnesses are the computer servers that run the Steem Blockchain.
Without witnesses there is no Steem, Steemit, DTube, Utopian or
Busy... You can really help Steem by making your 30 witness votes count!)


steem ocean - diving deep into the blockchain

Find out your voter rank position at steemocean.com!


tribesteemup-orange-banner.png


ureka.org

I run a social network too!

Sort:  

Hi @ura-soul!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.936 which ranks you at #96 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 177 contributions, your post is ranked at #142.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83