Not What You Think it is!!

From my last article:

https://steemit.com/steemiteducation/@allandharvey/tone-of-voice-is-key

In the next few articles I would like to address specific outcomes of poor communication, such as listening and conflict.

I define communication in two parts:

Communication

Communication defined.jpg

Communication is the simultaneous and therefore disorderly transfer of verbal or non-verbal messages, words or ideas between two or more persons in such a way that the person sending the message ensures that the one receiving it, receives, understands and interprets the message the way the sender intended it.

The Communicator

Communicator defined.jpg

A Communicator is one who when talking takes 100% responsibility for ensuring that the listener understands, and conversely when listening take 100% responsibility for understanding the speaker by asking questions if necessary.

Can you see that if we apply the definition of a communicator to ourselves there can be little to no blame for misunderstanding.

On the lookout.

look out for.jpg

I cant wait to share with you about listening in my next article - the KEY to improved communication skills.

call to action.jpg

TIP for improving your communication.

Start to take responsibility for communicating openly, honestly and sensitively.

Sort:  

Why I always follow up a discussion with an email or a message, starting with " From our conversation, I understand..........."

That's great Al. Clarifying communication is essential for understanding each other. Even in one to one type communication I often use ; "So if I understand you correctly, this is what I am hearing........" and so on.

I learned, sadly, that my communication with my eldest son did not achieve its aim. He got to an age where all the values I tried to teach was rejected flat out as he partook of the things of this world. A dad was left to simple "be there" and offer support when needed.

Heh Junior that is sad and how painful for a parent. Fortunately or unfortunately depending on how we look at it, our children have their agency. In your case it is so difficult to watch them walk a path we know will do them little good from an eternal perspective, however we consistently communicate love through our actions and words.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62639.70
ETH 2439.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64