Communicating Libertarianism

in #communication7 years ago

When I choose to put forth a statement in attempt to articulate libertarian ideas, I ask myself a few things.

  1. Does what I’m saying illustrate the core point I’m trying to communicate. (Any analogies or metaphors I use should illustrate what I’m saying and not be a distraction in themselves. If I can use an analogy that illustrates the same idea but is less polarizing, that’s what I go with)

  2. Does it give enough tools for people to put together the conclusion without outright giving it to them. (People don’t like being told what to think but you can frame things in a way to guide them to the desired conclusion)

  3. Does it preclude or include other libertarian ideas. (Libertarian principles can be wrapped around any normative worldview, I’m not in this to tell people what’s a perfect world because it’s different to everyone. I want to communicate libertarian principles in a way that lets anyone see how it allows them to pursue their ideals. Also those who do have strong normative preferences, I don’t want to alienate them because they are quality advocates to people with the same preferences)

That’s what I’m hoping to accomplish in any communication I put out, if I want to say something that doesn’t fit that I either don’t say it or do it through a medium where a relevant audience will hear it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82