I wrote a poem using as many catch phrases as I could remember

in #commercials7 years ago


50 years of TV,took its toll upon my brain
It started when I realized my bologna had a name
Each time I make a sandwich,I feel compelled to say
cause oscar meyer has a way with b-o-l-o-g-n-a

It happens when I'm driving
I deserve a break today
when I'm shopping for new sneakers
so get up and get away

Its not just me this happens to,
It happens to my wife
she opened up the fridge and said
we bring good things to life

I'm certain that their efforts
were in no way malicious
But I can't stop from thinking
that they're magically delicious

I went to town on thursday
To put money in the bank
On the way I stopped for gas
And put a tiger in my tank

I like to drink some coffee
In the morning when I'm up
Then I realized that the best part
Is folgers in my cup

I finish with my coffee
Then I shower for a while
I don't remember how long
But aren't you glad I used dial

If you're lost in the city
And you've got a place to be
just ask any mermaid
that you happen to see

lately I've been thinking
I want to be all I can be
But then I finally realized
I just want my MTV

I've been having problems
with my wifes old car
So I asked what she'd do
for a klondike bar

I called her at home and asked her
what you want for supper
she said I don't care
But bring home quicker picker upper

I give this advice
to those who have it rough
Remember what you're made of
You were built ford tough

I dont like to argue
I dont like to fight
But it absolutely positively
needs to be there overnight

I went to california
An old friend to meet
He brought some rice a roni
Its the san fransisco treat

Ive traveled quite extensively
but I never did see
anyone that doesn't
actually like sara lee.

I'm gonna try and end this now
But Id really like to say
dont hate me cause im beautiful
and its really parkay

I've fallen and I cant get up
I didn't know I should
and with a name like smuckers
It has to be good

Ok I really mean it now
but just one last thing
All Ive ever wanted was
to teach the world to sing

Byyyyyyyyyyy menon

Brad Dawson
All rights reserved

Sort:  

This was fun and very creative.

Thanks. Writing poems is just one of the things I like doing. Some aren't fit for publication but I keep writing because I enjoy it.

well done I new some of those catch phrases sadly not all of them guess it's cause I'm too young at heart or I live in Canada :D maybe both ? :P thanks for sharing

LOL I loved it so had to resteemit! My youngest son did nothing but commercials on a trip and never repeated them for over 300 miles! Yup that was the year I removed TV's out of my home! The programming of society...

Its amazing how indoctrinated we become without even realizing it.

It is and the steps needed to fight it needs a 12 step program ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55157.38
ETH 2317.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33