Introduction to my Book - Buying and Selling Comic Books for ProfitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #comics7 years ago

I've written a book called "Buying and Selling Comic Books for Profit: a Collector's Perspective."

I've decided to post the introduction here for free, if I get enough interest here I may post more. It is a very informative ebook for anyone that wants to learn about how to sell a collection of comic books: or what to look for when buying. I hope you enjoy it!

Screen Shot 2018-01-11 at 6.13.29 PM.png

Introduction:

Buying comic books, just like anything else, comes with risk. The rewards can be extensive in this venture, or you could potentially watch your investment spiral down the drain. Investing into comics isn’t much different than investing in the stock market. The idea is to buy cheap, and sell high. The only difference is that you can’t hold a stock in your hand, but you CAN hold a comic book in your hand.

This is what is so appealing to those of us that love comics. They are often beautiful works of art filled with history. They can tell us something about the times that they were written in. The bright colors and depictions of our favorite characters can fill us with a sense of awe. We want the first appearances and first issues, the keys; because they are the beginnings of something that has changed popular culture.

We also want those comics because other people want those comics. We want what is rare, what others will see and say “WOW! I want that issue, please take my money!” We all dream of buying an issue off the stands for three dollars, and selling it for thousands. While this is about as rare as finding a pearl: it has happened in the past. And there are ways to turn your comic book hobby into a profitable business, with lower risk than you would find in the stock market.

I’ve been collecting comics since I was around 12 years old. When I got started in collecting, I had no idea what I was doing. It would have been nice to have some sort of guide to help me along. It probably would have saved me several dollars, wasted in comics that I chose based upon “the pretty cover.”

The purpose of this short eBook is to give the beginner a quick “once around the world” in the area of comic collecting, and selling for profit. Following these simple instructions will have you on your way to building a reputable collection, and turning your comics over for quick cash, or possibly holding onto them for the long haul.

I’ll start by giving tips on choosing which books to buy, from the golden age to the modern age. I will then discuss the importance of the condition of the comic, and the potential benefit/risk of getting them graded by a third party. Finally, I will discuss how and when to sell your books.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66785.43
ETH 3494.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83