My Early Days Making Comics, and The Step To Where It Is Now

in #comics6 years ago

Hi there!
POSTER.jpg

So I am going to make it a short one this week.
What you are about to see below are the covers to my very first graphic novel that I was the artist for. When I started this story I had absolutely no idea what I was doing (I was so fresh that I didn't even know you draw comic pages larger than the size of the final printed page!)
The following are the covers to issue one, two, and three of Wexler's Follies:

Issue 1:
FOLLIESISSUE1PLAYBILL.jpg

Issue 2:
FOLLIESPLAYBILL2.jpg

and Issue 3:
Front Cover.jpg

As you can see there was quite a bit of growth between these three issues. Issue one was... terrible. I mean really god awful embarrassing stuff. Issue two was a little more developed, it is where I began to get a little more comfortable in my skin as an illustrator yet there was still a ways to go. Issue three was interesting. Issue three I certainly grew on, but in less dramatic ways than between issue one and two. It still has plenty of flaws, but each page started to become a little more consistent with the previous one.
I will show a post of these pages soon. We will all have a good laugh at the early work together!

Anyway, by the time I finished issue three I was really starting to settle in. I had also begun work on my second series "Second Wind" at this time. To give you an idea of some of the progress, here are the pencils of the covers (issue one is the inks because, well, I can't find the files of the pencils. This page was drawn around 5 years ago).

Issue 1:
Cover 2.jpg

Issue 2:
20150324182748.jpg

Issue 3:
COVER.jpg

As I said, by the end of issue three I was starting to get the hang of it. Since I was pretty happy with how the cover had turned out, I decided to redraw the other two girls in the same style:

VIVIAN POSTER.jpgSOPHIE POSTER.jpg

And here are the inks to all 3:
COVER 3.jpg

VIVIAN POSTER1.jpg

SOPHIE POSTER1.jpg

And last but not least, the colored version of the final three images:

SOPHIE FINISHED.jpgVIVIAN FINISHED.jpgPOSTER.jpg

I am still pretty pleased with these even years later. One of the major tools I learned in the coloring process was how to use layers in photoshop (yes, the covers from issue one and two were colored without layers. It was a nightmare) which made the process much easier and more natural.
Anyway, I hope you enjoy these images! Let me know what you think below.
Cheers!

Sort:  

I really like the playbill and quasi-art nouveau style of these, and I'm a sucker for the subject matter. Thanks for being brave and sharing some history from your early days.

Amazing wroks, @vesteban <3 The designs for each piece are wondrous and the detailing and inking and colours are just spectacular <3 .... I love layers. I can't live without layers now, but once a long time ago I used to draw everything on one layer XD hahaha!

Love how you showed massive improvements as you undertook your art journey <3 Gorgeous post <3 <3 <3

Thank you so much!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

That's fantastic thank you!

Awesome works, @vesteban!

Edit: I've liked it so much I've featured you in My entry to the "Pay It Forward Curation Contest - Week 22"

PIFC_Week_22_Preview.png

Thank you so much!

You're welcome. I'm glad you're enjoying SteemIt. Keep up with the good work!

very nice , lovely illustration

I'd be "pretty pleased" with these too!! Great job @vesteban :)

I found your post because @trincowski featured you in our Pay it forward Curation contest :)

It can be cringe worthy to look back on early development, but that period should be seen as a necessary part of development really.
I like how you've developed and it's lovely to see a recreation of how those pictures would look now.

Thank you! Yah it does get cringy, but it's kinda fun too. And you are absolutely right, it is a necessary step!

work on the characters, focus on it! You worked too much on the other details...Its good though but I feel a little unsatisfied with the main subject.

Im sorry, I have to take back my word. Im not little unsatisfied, Im really unsatisfied with how the characters ended up.

Hello! I appreciate your honesty, thank you for the feedback!

This is amazing! I love how you've shown us your growth and development. Keep up the awesome work!
I found your post from @trincowski's Pay it Forward entry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60189.57
ETH 3204.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44