Convention Nerd Haul!!

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone! I thought I’d take a break from playing Magic to share images of half of the merchandise that I picked up from C2E2. 


First off, I got super excited when I spotted these Adventure Time magnets. Ugh, they’re so freaking adorable! I almost died when I found Bmo. They’re all currently chillin on my fridge as happy as can be.

For those of you who may have missed some of my previous comic convention posts, here they are!!


C2E2 Adventures!! Cosplay Galore!

Fun Cosplayers from the Chicago Comic & Entertainment Expo // 1

Chicago Comic & Entertainment Expo 2018!!

Quick breakfast before the comic convention!

Please! Notice Me Senpai!!

Next up, some enamel pins! A kitty unicorn? What’s not to love! I’m also sad to say that I lost one of my pins. I’m not sure if it fell under my couch or if I lost it at the coffee shop whilst snapping pictures. 

Another cool pin that I got was from Jen Bartel. She had a really cool print of her version of Sailor Moon characters but I’ve got so many fan art illustrations. I had to tell myself to pick up something new this time around so I chose to get this tarot card pin. 

The last pin that I got was from Camilla d’Errico. She’s actually an artist that I’ve been following on Instagram for some time now. She had two booths at the convention and I was told that she would be available for autographs in the artist alley. 

I ended up finding her in the artist alley by accident and couldn’t resist picking up her book. She was so nice! I even blurted out shyly that I was a fan of her work. Ugh, I was so embarrassed. Her black inkings are fantastic and her color work is breathtaking! 

@lonniedi and I also got super hyped after going to a Kodansha Comics panel. Never underestimate the power of fellow otaku’s because when we’re in the same room you can’t resist the urge to buy merch! By the end of the panel I had “Anderson’s Booth #849” rammed into my head and we sprinted off to buy manga. 

The first comic I picked up was Wotakoi: Love Is Hard for Otaku by Fujita. 


The webcomic about nerds in love that took Japan by storm

Narumi Momose has had it rough; Every boyfriend she’s had dumped her once they found out she was an otaku, so she’s gone to great lengths to hide it. When a chance meeting at her new job with childhood friend, fellow otaku, and now coworker Hirotaka Nifumi almost gets her secret outed at work, she comes up with a plan to make sure he never speaks up and ruins her chances with the men at her new company. But he comes up with a counter-proposal; Why doesn’t she just date him instead?


I’ve read 1/3 of this manga so far and I’m in love. I’ll definitely be picking up more volumes!

To Your Eternity by Yoshitoki Oima. 


A heart-wrenching new fantasy epic from the creator of A Silent Voice!

An orb was cast unto the earth. After metamorphosing into a wolf, it joins a boy on his break journey to find his tribe. Ever learning, it transcends death, even when those around it cannot. 


I still haven’t read this one yet but I love a good fantasy manga. I’ll let everyone know my thoughts later on for this one!

Again!! by Mitsurou Kubo. 


From superstar creator Mitsurou Kubo (original concept and character designs for Yuri!!! on Ice) comes a dramatic, funny, time-traveling high school story about what it means to cheer on a friend! What would you do if you had the chance to do everything...again?


Umm..yes! I’m a huge Yuri!!! on Ice fan so I had to pick this one up. Again, I still need to find time to crack this one open.

The last thing that I’ll share from my collection of nerd merch are these tea tins that came as a set. Do you recognize these characters? Yes! It’s Yuri and Victory from Yuri!!! on Ice. 

I fell in love instantly but I had purchased so much that I was going to let these two go. Luckily, the bestie @lonniedi was kind enough to gift them to me. I am so loved! 


Thanks for stopping by to check out my nerd haul!

If you’re a fellow comic convention patron, what do you typically purchase at these events? 🦊

Sort:  

There are few things before than an attractive woman who actually has deep nerdy interests.

Madame, you're the real deal Holifield.

It's too bad, but I haven't been to a convention in a long time. Do you ever cosplay?

I have but they’re always really simple ones because I always procrastinate. Next year...I will finish on time. If you scroll up and click on my older post “Please! Notice Me Senpai!!” Then you’ll see this years cosplay.

Ah I have never been but it looks like a lot of fun! Didn’t realize they had all these cute little pins to collect there :P

I’ve taken notice to them now that I’ve got a jacket to place them on! I die every time I go because I’m always surprised by all the fantastic merchandise!

Wow you got some awesome stuff! I'm jealous, I want all of those pins.

Thanks @la-fumettista! I’m very proud of myself for not getting a bunch more. I went way over my budget!

comics, comics and more comics ! Speaking of Magic, they once offered Jae Lee illustrated limited set at SDCC... I ended up picking up that leonine planeswalker. Would suggest checking ‘em out when bored, just beautiful : )

7716728A-59C7-4279-80D1-8A7A7F8E6E33.jpeg

Cool! Man, I play Magic mainly to admire the artwork! I’ve never actually been to SDCC but it’s on my list of events to visit. :D

Whoa you got Groot and lots of mangas!!! <3 What an awesome haul!

I used to buy lots and lots of mangas too, but I don't anymore because I don't have anywhere to stash them xP. Now I only buy one or two books a year.

-upvoted-

I know! I’m spoiled. 😆 I feel ya, my manga collection is hanging out under my bed until we finish setting up our workspace/nerd room.

I haven't been to a con for the better part of forever for various reasons (mostly because the ones that I am interested in getting to are always on at bad times for me XD). Have been thinking about it again in recent history as the kids have expressed interest in going to some, and it's looking like a potentially expensive proposition XD Some really nice gear you obtained though :)

goatsig

Thanks @ryivhnn! I’d love to take our little guy since he’d probably enjoy the cosplays but I agree, It would end up being an expensive family event.

Those Adventure Time magnets are amazing!! Love the little Lemongrab!

I could hear Lemongrab screaming for me to take him home as well! XD

they are amazing ;)

@vermillionfox te felicito ,uy hermosa tu colección, Uff me da algo de envidia. Hay grandes piezas muy bien realizadas

Thanks! I’m glad you liked them! They really are great quality goods. :D

Love that pin

The I hate you one? 😈

The one with her head split open.

Yeah! Ugh, I dream of making a pin that awesome...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95