You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ending the Night With a Little Trolling...

in #comics6 years ago

I'm so glad I finally checked your blog again. Lots of catching up to do when you get as sidetracked in life as I am lately.

Do you feel that at some point we should gradually lower stabilization so that we train ourselves to draw well without it? I'd like to just be able to manage good line work at some point without either this or the curve tool. Interestingly, it seems like I can draw better traditionally in this sense than digitally, but naturally I want to keep my $1,000 Cintiq and Clip Studio as a major part of my drawing toolbox.

I'd forgotten all about it until recently, but maybe I should turn stabilization on for the time being, at least. I can only sit there re-drawing the same line for so many minutes before I wonder if I'm ultimately harming my output and education in art...

Sort:  

I feel like the mediums are so different that stabilization is more a setting than a crutch. Foregoing it would be akin to never using brush opacity settings and relying entirely on physical pressure control. Doable, yes... but why would you!
There’s something about the smoothness of the screen, some natural jitter that may be introduced by the electronic interface (bad drivers can definitely cause a “digital tremble”) that stabilization is kind of a counter mechanism. I’m with you that in some situations I would find it easier to draw elegant lines traditionally than digitally if stabilization was off. If that’s true then we’re just getting back to even when using stabilization!
I don’t really have any inclination to wean myself off any particular settings, brushes, etc. I’ll use every tool I can to get the result I want! Depending on illustration style, there’s plenty of people & projects that would have no use for stabilization, if a rougher, more visceral line & texture are called for. Ultimately it just depends on preference and the look you’re trying to achieve in my opinion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15