Some recent drawings

in #comics6 years ago

I've been copying cartoonists lately. It's due to feelings of inadequacy, enthusiasm, and a desire to learn. Motivation is a mixed bag.

IMG_20190111_193440_639.jpg
This is copied from a great domestic scene featuring Ben Grimm. I removed his GF and the Silver Surfer.

IMG_20190102_152034_192.jpg
This is some water by Jack Davis copied from the Mad spinoff, Panic.

IMG_20181222_152203122.jpg
This piece is a copy from Italian cartoonist, Hugo Pratt's Corto Matese. I improved the dialogue.

IMG_20190108_152654_820.jpg
Been Grimm again in another dimeric screen, also featuring the Silver Surfer. I like the Surfer; he's one of Kirby's greatest cosmic characters. I was disappointed by how this one came out so I thickened some of the outlines beings my usual limits.
Below is the original, which I had posted to my Instagram story.
IMG_20190103_181822_575.jpg

In other at updates: This is the year that I finish all my unfinished paintings. Below is the first patient. Perhaps it looks fine to you.

IMG_20190105_173441801.jpg

I took this photo just after I wrecked the green sky and fixed the red marble block building on the right. That building no longer exists. In the painting, that is. It never existed in Milwaukee.

It's a picture of the cover to a comic that doesn't exist, but should. The comic book is nicknamed (titled) Cryptogram. On this cover Venus DeMilo is attacking the city. My inspiration came from an amorphous blob of spray paint that reminded me of the Venus, and the cover of a Doorman comic were cars in the street were exploding, but the explosions were these wonderful 2D magenta cut outs behind them.
The scene takes place in Milwaukee2, on a bridge in actual Milwaukee. I went there and took some pictures. There's no red marble building. The painting went unfinished for years because of that marble building (that doesn't exist)!

Sort:  

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing post with us!

Have you heard about Partiko? It’s a really convenient mobile app for Steem! With Partiko, you can easily see what’s going on in the Steem community, make posts and comments (no beneficiary cut forever!), and always stayed connected with your followers via push notification!

Partiko also rewards you with Partiko Points (3000 Partiko Point bonus when you first use it!), and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem tokens. You can earn Partiko Points easily by making posts and comments using Partiko.

We also noticed that your Steem Power is low. We will be very happy to delegate 15 Steem Power to you once you have made a post using Partiko! With more Steem Power, you can make more posts and comments, and earn more rewards!

If that all sounds interesting, you can:

Thank you so much for reading this message!

But what is the advantage of using a third party middle-man?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56162.63
ETH 2368.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31