Hellboy Private Commission Process

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

Hey y’all! Now that the conventions and events and such are over for the rest of the year (probably), i am diving back in to my commission list. Thought I’d share the process of this Hellboy piece. I do apologize as a few of the photos were taking with horrible phone.

Step 01: Hashing out the drawing on the illustration board. I knew the client was a big fan of Del Toro Hellboy flicks, so I went primarily with that anatomy and costuming, but I wanted to include a nod to the comics as well. So from the get go I know I was going to go heavy on the blacks.

72BAD8B8-BFB8-4AAA-AA3E-D04550B87C0B.jpeg

1E9BB735-FF1F-4F95-96CE-5970AB4ED59C.jpeg

Step 02: Once I have the general edges and shadows defined, I go in with a sharp prismcolor black pencil and, using the side of the lead instead of the tip, define the edge of my blacks. This is also a good time to start adding textures.

51AC5EB7-7AA4-4CEF-9A2E-62D168D5836C.jpeg

Step 03: Once most the edges are defined, I go in with a smallish flat brush and lay down acrylic black ink. For this piece, I’m using Liquitex Basica Ivory Black. Sometimes I get excited and start laying in fields of black before all the edges are defined, but that can help to make apparent any shadows that aren’t casting quite right.

C66815C4-4E18-4B16-8FBC-4A5982C1C465.jpeg

B8AC20AC-B715-469F-8DC6-DD0956F8F81E.jpeg

Step 04: Once all the black is filled, its time to back in with the colored pencil and add detailing and continued contouring and shadow casting. Also time to add some flicks and splatters for texture

73F82119-4106-4048-8B4B-7A14468FF481.jpeg

And there ya have it. The first part is finished. All inked and ready to go for color. Color will be done using diluted Dr. Martins acrylic ink, acrylic paint, and colored pencils. Hoping to get to the color in the next day or two; I’ll make sure to post the process of that as well!

Regards
-Adam

Sort:  

mindblowing artwork....its stunning

Thank you! I wish I could figure out why half the images are sideways.

I like your ink works, it is both delicate and confident in where you decided to shadow this art piece :).
                       
It would be nice if you rotate the last two photos though ^^.

Thank you! I can’t figure out why they are showing up sideways. Hopefully the next process post won’t have the same problem.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Your hellboy looks so dark and dangerous! Great drawing! And I like your progress photos too. Thank you for sharing!

I love Hellboy. Especially in the original comics. I met Mignola in a convention too. Excellent drawing

Gorgeous, Adam ! The light and shadows are wonderfully done in this picture <3 I love it !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84