Why is breaking the fourth wall so awesome??

in #comics6 years ago (edited)


4th wall.jpg

In reading my son's favorite book to them for the 6th night in a row, I thought fondly of the first time I read this same book, and how it was my favorite as well. Why was I so fond of this book? It was my first experience breaking the fourth wall! Although it is growing far more common now for children to have a TV show break the fourth wall by the character talking to "them" (Example: Dora the Explorer), this was far less common when I was a kid. For many people my age, this may have been their first experience with the fourth wall being broken in a book, or any media for that matter. The only thing I can think of other than this book when I was a kid was Sesame Street vaguely referencing you.

The premise of the book, how does it break the fourth wall?

It's all in the title

The entire idea is that Grover does not want you to turn the page of the book he is in due to the fact there is a monster at the end of the book...

24891419_1958983931091346_1295082867_n.jpg

SPOILER ALERT: You're gonna turn the page

24581430_1958983971091342_892593669_n.jpg

... only to find out he is the monster at the end of the book.
I love how meta this book is...
He acknowledges he is in a book
knows he is on a page
He talks to YOU the reader "negotiating"
He even tries preventing the end

It is great because he acknowledges all of these things that are so far beyond the typical concept of a children's book, yet he does not know "his future" within the book.

b4 (1).png

Today, one of the most prolific and known characters for breaking the 4th wall is Deadpool, obviously. Again, I think this is why so many new fans of comics are drawn to this character. Yeah he is funny, but there are a TON of funny comic book characters. Thing with Deadpool is that he has an extra edge, and breaking the fourth wall is what keeps his audience so engaged and he remains popular and relevant. Many would argue that the recent Deadpool movie is one of the best comic movies made.

I agree


source

What are your favorite examples of the fourth wall being broken?? Any obscure ones I may not know about?

Sort:  

i found that cartoon shows that breaks the fourth wall attracts a large number of kids. i have 2 nieces and i wondered for awhile why they both love dora the explorer. until i realize it was because of how engaging and interactive the show was. it draws the viewers into the show by engaging them with questions and kids love that. great post @saywha! :)

It's true, this is just about the best children's book ever. Do you read it with a Grover voice? This is the only book where I actually lose my voice reading it sometimes. :)

I seem to remember Malcolm in the Middle being a "fourth wall" story, with occasional instances looking directly at the camera and speaking to the viewers.

Ah good call with malcom in the middle. I use grover voice sometimes

In that case, wouldn't "Saved by the Bell" fall into that same category? Zack not only broke the forth wall, he froze time to do it. LOL

True, yes indeed! What a funny example. Wonder if they'll ever remake this show. Maybe starring Malcolm (assuming he's the high school age now). And Fred Savage as the principal. ;)

I think you just made my nose bleed.

:) Nice one! lol

Grover is pretty much the Deadpool of Sesame Street.
He often breaks the 4th wall.

I always find this one a bit entertaining. Thanks for this post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17