I got a 3d printer for free!

in #comics6 years ago

3dprinter.jpg

AKA: I have some of the coolest friends ever.

My buddy got a new 3d printer, and is getting YET ANOTHER, so he was super cool and let me have his entry level one. Not only that but helped me get set up with a lot of the technicals and quickly walked me through the "basics"


We Downloaded Cura, which is the program that... does the models and stuff? I genuinely have no freaking clue. oh my god please help me. I think the only person I know here that does 3d modeling is @themarkymark and maybe @howo ? I honestly don't remember... If you guys have any good resources for a pleb with no coding background that would be amazing.


This is where he changed a bunch of settings that I probably won't figure out how to change until I drown in my tears from confusion. Seriously... I was trying my best to follow, but my friend is an engineer at Boeing (smart nerd)... and I collect comics and action figures (nerd nerd).

OH OH BUT I FOUND SOMETHING EXCITING...

It obviously had to do with action figures


I found a model for a 3d printed 6 inch action figure stand that has the S.H.I.E.L.D. logo.

After a few failed attempts at not leveling my stand properly, and not having a sticky enough surface... We He got the print working last night.

When I woke up! I had a sweet stand for an action figure!!!

I was pretty pumped so I immediately started another print of the same thing to give another buddy of mine since he has some SHIELD figures he could use it for.


While I don't have any SHIELD figures right now I can still use it for my DEATHLOK, since he is in the show... and his friggin joints are loose... dang weeble wobble.

UPDATE

lol, I almost immediately broke one of the pegs because I was forcing it a bit too much

Seriously though guys. ANY SUGGESTIONS for easy ways to make my own 3d models or alter existing ones? What programs do I need? How do I get smart? What was the biggest help for you when you start.

Sort:  

You are one lucky dude to get one for free, even if it's just your friend's old, entry-level model.

I am gonna get one someday, when funds permit, so until then I'll just have to rely on my friends for my 3D printing needs.

I'm a 3D artist, btw, and I might help you get started on 3D modeling. :)

Check out my intro post to know more about me.

Thats super cool man. You have some great work. Following you now and hope to see some new stuff soon!

I went to school for this stuff, and also am the president of our local makerspace - if you have any questions just give me a shout!

Woah dude. Of course you are... Shoulda thought of that. I will definitely be hitting you up. For sure gonna need help learning how to alter 3d scans to add peg holes/pegs for action figures

What the fuck? Man, why can't I ever have any cool friends. All my friends do is flake out on me whenever I want to try and hang out. Either that, or they offer me Coors Light where I then have to behead them for their sin.

Cool shit though, hope you can get some help figuring out how to use it.

Sir🤗 This 3d printer is really really cool 🤖 wow
In tagalog (Philippine dialect) Cool is "Astig". Your friend too is so ASTIG for letting you have his 3d printer. He is such a great friend. Rare to have have friend like that and a printer:) If I'm going to have that one, I will make my girlfriend her own action figure of herself and it will be a plus points to her. Jahaha. Lol

Haha thats a great idea. I think the hardest part would be designing the model of her but its definitely possible!

It is possible😀? Haha. I can imagine already how happy she will be having her own action figure. Haha. Making 3d arts is really a fun thing to do. To think, only few people knows how to do that. Haha. Thank you sir @saywha

There are a lot of us 3D artists here in the Philippines, myself included.

OMG THIS IS AWESOME I'M SO FUCKING JEALOUS. I don't have one (yet, I might one day buy one but I still don't really see the use for it but I still want one so much).

So I can't help you there :p Although @makerhacks is the king of 3d printers he has like 50 of those at home printing more 3d printers to take over the world. So try pinging him to death, I know @themarkymark and him are frens so if you don't manage to reach him talk to themarkymark first :p

Haha I thought for sure you had one... Odd. Well, thanks for pinging that guy. Ill follow him!

sick! I want one.
I bet you will be nerding out on this! Make your own comic models! 😉

You know it man. Im gonna do a post if the kinds of stuff i wanna make :)

Check out @frogmancosplay & @mitchhunter as I saw they’ve both done pieces recently involving 3D printing. Fantastic man!!

Oh yeah. I nominated mitch before for ocd!

Damn you. Here I am thinking I found new talent...lol

Lol sorry man. I have an 11 month head start lol

Wait wtf @frogmancosplay is from enumclaw... i grew up next to that city lol

That place just sounds made up. I call horseshit.

Nah. Horseshit, WA is like 10 miles further away

Oh it's a real place ;) hahah

Cool stuff mahn! I was laughing when I read this

but my friend is an engineer at Boeing (smart nerd)... and I collect comics and action figures (nerd nerd).

because I fully relate but on my case writers or poets. Anyway, awesome gift, hope you have fun learning it's ways :)

Glad I could make you laugh haha... Thats my goal here!

You got a 100.00% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @saywha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64308.31
ETH 2810.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65