Custom action figure progress: Black Panther

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

blackpanthercustom.jpg

I was able to make some huge progress on my Black Panther w/Infinity Gauntlet custom figure with the help of a friend today. He definitely came through for me, sculpting the Infinity gems, and some detail onto the gauntlet getting it one step closer to finishing... NOT ONLY THAT, but he found a custom head that someone had casted and was selling. Since I didn't have a paypal account ready he bought it for me and had it shipped. He has definitely been super valuable as a coach as I learn customizing.

blackpantherhead_LI.jpg
It is a pretty awesome looking head, and serves as a perfect alternate head for my Black Panther. It may be slightly small for the frame, but once painted will look great I think

My friend displaying the fact that the head cast came in... needless to say it didn't take me long to head over there and get to work...

The next step is to add the only detail to his costume!

Those sweet arm bands/ necklace!

This was an idea we were bouncing around for a while on how it could even be done. paint is too sloppy to get that fine of a line... string too flimsy... glue too messy... sculpt too bulky... That is when I saw some coated wire he was using to make spiderman webbing... and I knew it would work... but it wasn't easy

Wrapping the wire and getting it cut the right size was easy enough but the part that I was worried about was attaching it and making sure that it stayed attached. Again, with some advice I used Krazy glue and attached one end first... waited for a solid bond (several minutes) and then slowly attached it down mm by mm.

The figure still needs a little bit more prep, to clean the glue off, prime it again, sculpt the "points" to the white bands, and my friend is going to add a bit more detail to the gauntlet. After all that is done we can do the final paint, and details. We are also throwing around the idea of making a light up wearable Infinity Gauntlet for Black Panther.

monsterfooter.jpg

P.S. Check out my Star Wars card collection!

Sort:  

looks like it is coming along nicely. I have worked with Casting Cave on some helmets and facemasks for my customs but he won't do them any more, not sure why. Which is too bad, I really need to find a caster to make some more. Do you know any other people who cast?

Not currently but ill let you know if I come across any

are you on facebook in the action figure customizer group?

I am in a lot of Marvel Legend groups and comics customizer groups.

Looking good! Nice little find on the head.

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

wow, a job that must be very thorough, of course the love of this toy that makes this fun.
i want to know the material and how to manufacture it?
I want to try to make my candle toy figure in miniature form as you have.
Thanks @saywha

Well the base is an action figure that was sculpted on top of. Not sure how to make a candle like that lol

This is rad man, good work.
ps. Love the nerd tag haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63490.29
ETH 2598.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78