Speculating on Gotham's Batwoman

in #comics6 years ago


Image Source

I'm sure most who happen to read this post are aware of CW's Arrowverse. I watch most of it; there was the intense first two seasons of The Arrow, the fantastic first season of The Flash, Super Girl and the wonderful Melissa Benoist, and finally Legends of Tomorrow. All you need to know about that series to understand it is Beebo, and how amazing Beebo really is. I mean, the Eobard Thawne series was unbelievable...but Beebo? I feel like someone could teach a college class based of that season of Beebo alone. The examination of the archetype of myth was something else. But I'm writing to myself right now; let's get back on track.


Image Source

The Arrowverse; It's a hit or miss bunch of shows. For every amazing episode, there is filler, and it's up to the viewer to figure how much filler they can handle between shows that have amazing content. Fortunately for me and my wife, we have patience, so we've managed to hold tight over the last 6 years. It's been rough, but we've managed (personally, the bourbon has helped at times too).


Image Source

That leads us to the next possible show being showcased during tonight's Elseworld opener on the CW. The show is set in Gotham City, and it's not the Batman that is featured, but rather Batwoman. Not Batgirl; not Robin, Azrael, or even Batman 666. It's Batwoman. And it's not that unbelievable. For this channel's market, there is a belief that having the first openly gay or lesbian lead superhero in the current made for television/film comic book is ripe for ratings. And it might very well be. Time will tell, but if the show starts next year, and it gets traction, Batwoman's key comic books will be hot. So let's review Kate Kane, Bruce Wayne's cousin, key issues in the DC comic lexicon.

52 #7


Image Source

This issue has the first appearance of the character Kate Kane.

52 #9


Image Source

This issue has the first appearance of Kate Kane as Batwoman.

52 #11


Image Source

The Morrison comic has what is considered the 1st full appearance of Kate Kane as Batwoman. Grab this one if you can get it cheap. This would be the one to get from a long term collection standpoint.

Bonus Pick : Batgirl 12 Artgerm


Image Source

It's an Artgerm, it features Batgirl vs Batwoman, and another one I'll add to my long term collection. Get it quickly, cheaply, if you can.


Image Source

Personally, I'm excited to what the CW folks do with this character. This Elseworlds series is supposed to also include the infamous black suit Superman. I'm hoping they take it to the next level on these shows, and quickly. My liver can only take so much bourbon...

Good luck finding the books above CHEAP. Let me know if you can; like anything else in life that is not Litecoin related, these would be good to buy low and sell high. I don't think the Batwoman highs have hit quite yet, so this is one to get on.

Sort:  

You got me intrigued and impulsive, so I popped over to eBay and lo & behold there was an auction with less than 30 minutes and no bids yet. Someone else jumped in at the last minute but I still think I got a good deal!


F63E9D0D-3480-4444-8850-BC64E76AFD9F.jpeg


awesome! I just put down 2 bids for # 11 for $15 max, hoping to get a snag. No idea if it pays off, but if the show takes off, it could be a nice little investment. I think anything Bat related is a good investment, if we can get it cheap and reasonable. for $20, you got a deal, me thinks

I sure think so, as long as there are no condition surprises... but the photos all looked VF+. I’d keep your eye out for lots like that, sellers & searchers seem to overlook the hot books in them sometimes.

that's a good idea - thanks for the advice. Nice grab for that price. There may be some other key characters/events in that series too that I'm not aware of.

My next big move I think is to grab Teen Titans 12; I think that the Batman Who Laughs should continue to keep going up too. Of course I was foolish to not grab it for cover price, but I think it should continue to go up over time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62892.68
ETH 2581.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73