Speculating Comic Book Day 10-17-2018

in #comics6 years ago (edited)


Image Source

I won’t get them all, of course, but I’ll be looking for these come Wednesday morning. Again, I’ve focused more on the big publishers as I have yet to figure out indies. I did add Scout Comics The Source to the list, as the story sounds fascinating, but I highly doubt that it will be at my store.

With that all said, here are some books that I will a) attempt to buy in hopes of b) future appreciation for books released on 10-17-2018. This is purely speculation on my part per my research this past week with various sites and reads. These are the ones I’ll be looking to buy.

Astonishing X-Men #16 Yoon Lee Battle Lines Variant


Image Source

Thanos is on the cover, and this one looks sold out online across the web. Presales are available on Ebay, but all in cost with shipping is higher than cover price. I’m thinking with all the MECU interest with Thanos, this could appreciate down the road? I’ll pick it up if it is at my store.

Weapon H #9 Maxx Lim Battlelines Variant


Image Source

This one features the Red Hulk; I could't find a working link (correction, found this morning above), but you should be able to use the Google Machine to find an image of this one.It’s got the Red Hulk on the cover, so I’m hoping I can find this one Wednesday morning too. Another one that sold out ASAP online.

Daredevil #609 Jong-Ju Kim Battle Lines Variant


Image Source

This one too went fast online. I don’t have a lot of Daredevil comic books, but I love the Netflix show. I’ll only grab this one if others aren’t on this list.

Teen Titans #23 - Alex Garner Variant


Image Source

This one has a very cool Robin on the cover; I like the regular cover too, but if lucky will buy the variant because of its Batman-family ties.

Harley Quinn #52 Frank Cho Variant


Image Source

Harley is the ultimate cult anti-hero/villain. Cho’s #50 -#51 have been attracting bids on Ebay, so I’m going to grab this one if possible. Another flier, I guess.

Batman #57 Francesco Mattina Variant


[Image Source]

Mattina’s stuff has been much in demand on Ebay, and I noticed this sold out on Midtown late Friday/early Saturday morning. Another one i’m hoping my local store has Wednesday morning. Plus it’s Batman!

Venom Annual #1 Bill Sienkiewicz Variant


Image Source

Holy wow; not sure if this will be in demand down the road, but I have to say I’m picking this one up if possible because the cover is intense, and Cates is writing the first ever Venom Annual in the history of Marvel. Did I mention I like Cates?

Aquaman #41 Riccardo Federici Regular Cover / Joshua Middleton Variant Cover


Image Source

Another one I had an issue finding working links too...

Federici provided the artwork for the Witching Hour variants which have gone for $7-$10 USD on Ebay. Not sure Aquaman will get the same kind of love, but I’ll pick it up for some speculation. I’ll also get the Middleton variant if possible. I’ve been trying to get all of his Batgirl stuff too, so I’ll take a flier on both depending on what else is at the store.

* Thor #6* Richard Isanove Variant - Marvel Knights


Image Source

Another one that sold out quickly online. The art on this one looks demented/abstract, and I like the look of it.

What If Ghost Rider #1 Either Variant or Regular


Image Source

I loved Ghost Rider as a kid, so I’ll pick this one up. Another one currently sold out online, so it could have some value with collectors down the road.

The Source...by Scout Comics, but doubt my my store will have it.

That’s what I”m speculating on Wednesday morning when my shop opens up. I’ll also be picking up Nightwing 51, Lucifer #1, Justice League #10, and Justice League Dark #4 (both if possible). Yikes, that’s a lot of comic books. I’m assuming most of the variants will not be available, so the list isn’t that scary for I’m thinking. Good thing I have the secret credit card, however.

What do you think? Any recommendations? Anything I missed? Anything you’d recommend I pick up? Thanks again for stopping by and leave a comment/feedback if so inclined. And don’t forget: @clearbluecrypto has started a guild that I think has a lot of great potential and value for us Steemians who enjoy this type of content. Definitely check it out if interested - more information can be found here.

Sort:  

and the link to @clearbluecrypto ' s group is here

I also found a better site to get graphics, so that will be more consistent going forward. Good luck tomorrow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63697.39
ETH 3145.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83