Neil Gaiman - Comics Prodigy or Over-rated?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #comics7 years ago (edited)

My first contact with Gaiman was Sandman, ~27 years ago. I was reading a lot about occultism back then, and, naturally, a comic with a Crowley-like magus using ritual magic to imprison the God of Dreams for 100 years was a must-read!

Sandman

Slowly, issue after issue, a huge mythology unfolded in the pages of Sandman. Seven ancient powerful beings (Dream, Delirium, Destiny, Death, Despair, Desire, Destruction) are affecting the world (rather, the universe) according to each one’s qualities. The series follows Dream (or Morpheus) through numerous events through time and in several historical and fantasy realms; there are stories inspired by the Arabian Nights, by Shakespear’s plays, by crime thrillers & film-noirs, of tortured artists, in ancient Greece & in necropolises of distant realities, and many other themes.

Gaiman takes many existing stories and blends them with his own original work in a cosmology of great scale. It is very interesting and unique to see the world(s) through the eyes of such powerful creatures as the Seven Endless Ones, and the experiences of their sidekicks. Recurring characters & antagonists are introduced, and gradually their role in the big picture becomes evident. When the interaction between the characters starts to become critical, the reader has developed feelings for most of them, and sympathizes with their sentiments.

The end of the series is monumental, and is considered one of the most important close-ups in the industry. I will not spoil anything here, let’s just say that I consider the final story-arc, ”The Kindly Ones” one of the best arcs I’ve ever read in comics.

Reading through the series evokes a dreamy feeling to the reader, as transitions are fluid, the dialogue is full of lyricism and characters act like they serve a higher purpose, like being bind by an unspoken contract to the highest authorities. Everything comes in a very natural way though, and not once did I feel like someone acted out-of-character.

A plethora of artists worked on Sandman (Michael Zulli, Mike Dringenberg, Jill Thompson, etc), each one giving a different art style, according to the theme of each story-arc. Special mention should go to Dave McKean for designing the cover of each issue, definitely setting the dreamy tone for the whole series; I was lucky enough to meet him in a recent comic-con and have him sign my first and last issues of Sandman.


My copy sketched & signed by Mr Dave McKean


Sandman was published by DC/Vertigo, 1989-1996; there are several collected editions and a 2-volume omnibus. There were numerous mini-series & spinoffs with the other Endless Ones, especially Death was a very popular character. Also, there were several anniversary issues, short novels, art collections, etc.

Books of Magic

During the Sandman run, Gaiman had the momentum of a highly-acclaimed writer, and everything he touched turned to gold. Books of Magic was an excellent story nonetheless, a 4-issues mini series, published by DC/Vertigo in 1990. It is about a boy, Tim, that is destined to become the greatest magician ever (not the one from Monty Python’s Holy Grail lol).

When his destiny is revealed, it draws the attention of several parties. Some of the occult-oriented characters of DC Universe appear in the pages of the Books, and interact with the young magician, including John Constantine (of Hellblazer fame), Phantom Stranger, Mr E and others.

Much like Dicken’s Christmas Carol, in each issue a main character acts like a guide to Tim and introduces him to persons, events and locales that are important to that fictional universe. Tim visits places like the Faerie of Midsummer Night’s Dream, old Camelot, and even Hell.

Gaiman uses some of the themes he introduced in Sandman to give more consistency to his story, as these places and events of the DC Universe are already known to readers, and are already well-fleshed out. Tim’s journey is the initiation of an apprentice into the ways of magic, as the boy gradually realizes whether he will join the side of Good or Evil, or if he will abandon this new world and return to a mundane existence with no magic at all.

It is a great read, full of references, easter eggs, and remakes of old DC characters. It was welcomed well and had a big success, so returned as an ongoing comic series detailing the adventures of the mage Tim Hunter that lasted for 75 issues.

Other works

Gaiman has a rich bibliography in comics, I’ll mention those I have read:

  • One Life, sort of self-biography with a focus on the writer’s love for Michael Moorcock’s Elric of Melnibone. Only interesting for a niche audience, the fans of Elric; all the rest must be totally indifferent about this comic. Feels more like something Gaiman did for his own self, rather than a work for publication.
  • Several one-shots and extras set in the DC Universe, as well as rewrites of some forgotten DC characters. Nothing special, just Gaiman monetizing his success with Sandman, in my opinion. Some of them were announced and cancelled before publication.
  • Endless Nights, 2004, a mini-series of 7 stories, one for each of the Endless ones. Gaiman feels at home in his Sandman universe and tells 7 good stories, with radically different art and layout styles (the Delirium issue is eye-candy!). It is a good read, with great reviews, but as I read it I could not help feeling that I taste stale food, in a way that I could not exactly explain.
  • 1602 by Marvel. Gaiman gathers all the popular super-heros of the Marvel Universe (the Fantastic 4, Spider-man, the X-Men, Daredevil, Nick Fury, blah blah blah) and sets them in the year 1602 to face Dr Doom and Magneto, in the newly discovered New World! Sorry, but… what? As if there was not enough of those costumed people, and their reboots, now we have to see them in renaissance attire!? I wish I had not spent my time reading another of Gaiman’s attempts to re-use what was successful with Sandman with anything that comes up in his mail-box.
  • American Gods and Good Omens, while not comics, should be mentioned here, too. Two mediocre novels, with peculiar climaxes, that I can’t remember details about; well, perhaps, there was nothing special to remember… except Terry Pratchet’s obvious contributions in Good Omens.

Final Words

I greatly enjoyed the Sandman series, I honestly believe that it was a milestone in comics, second only to Watchmen by the grand-master, his royal highness, Mr Alan Moore (I’ll write about him in a future post if I can).

But that’s all. In my opinion, Gaiman should try different things instead of repeating the success- story of Sandman. As a story-teller, your stories should inspire and influence the readers, and open new doorways to them; you have to keep progressing with innovative styles and themes, to talk about modern issues and concepts seen from unique perspectives. That’s what will ensure you are distinct from all the rest; and when there is nothing new to tell or use, try something completely different.

What do you think about Neil Gaiman, and about the storytellers role?


Sort:  

Great post, love in depth comics content. @thebeesknees also does good work on this subject.

Resteemed, upvoted and followed.

Well, i enoy so much @thebeesknees posts, I like his writing style a lot and I don't think I have hos experience in comics. I am more focused on specific artists and characters, I don't follow the comics trends in general. Anyone knows why has he stopped posting?

Glad you liked this post and thanks for your support!

DEFINITELY NOT OVERRATED - This is a fucking masterpiece. I read a lot of graphic novels and the artwork here is outstanding. So many different drawers and I really love what Neil Gaiman did with the old mythologies. Brilliant!

Yes, that is true, Sandman is a masterpiece indeed, and paved the way for the comic industry for many years. The way Gaiman referenced ALL mythologies and blended them in a wide cosmology is also unique, no doubt about that. But I was talking about Gaiman and his other works being overrated, not Sandman. For example, although American Gods was a great book in itself, blending gods of different civilizations and how they are worshiped by men are themes he also explored in Sandman.

Yeah its a bit embarrassing. I have to admit - I just read Sandman... overrated?... and got emotional and didn't read the rest. Wrote a comment right away, because it is my absolutely favourite one :-D Sorry for that. The answer is: NO not overrated, but by far not as good as Sandman

Certainly Sandman was the lightning in a bottle that Gaiman has never fully recaptured, but I did enjoy American Gods and even more so Anansi Boys, its sequel/prequel.
I also enjoy his short stories and poetry, Fragile Things is a great collection and the comic adaptations of Harlequin Valentine and Murder Mysteries are quite good.

So overall I personally don't think he is overrated, he just suffers a bit from every work he does being compared to the magic of Sandman.

Great write up, looking forward to your thoughts on Moore!

Yes, i agree: anything Gaiman does will be in the shadow of Sandman. It is hard legacy to compare to and it would be a great challenge to write anything better or even equal. Perhaps that was his peak then?

Recently discovered The Graveyard Book and really dug it. Loved a lot of his work on Sandman, although some of it left me a little cold- sometimes depending on the artist. But in general, he is a bit of a genius, in my opinion

Never heard of the Graveyard Book, i'll have to check it out. And, certainly, there are so many artists and different styles in the pages of Sandman that every reader should find something to love. Thanks for your comment!

Neil Gaiman is the single most important author to me. On some level the only thing I really want is to become someone who he wants to be in a room with. The Sandman is one of the most formative works for my personal style, and to some degree even spiritual beliefs.

I super recommend his collection of non fiction works, "the view from the cheap seats."

Great/ very thorough comicbook analysis. I'm excited to see you tackle other great comic book writers and artists.

Somehow this reminds of Gaiman's "One Life" story; how he loved Moorcock and Elric of Melnibone and how great an influence it was for him. Maybe it is history repeatinghere!

I was too young to really understand Sandman in the 80s. By the time the 90s rolled around, many of those books were all jacked up in price. So I only got a few books from the series and I noticed they were extremely complicated stories, that I had just stumbled into the middle of. So I never really fully understood the story. I think you have helped fill in some gaps there and peaked my interest once again.

That is good to hear, if you got inspired by this post to check out once more the work of Gaiman or comics in general. It happened to me too, with fractals: after seeing some amazing fractal posts here, I got hooked with them once more, as you can see in my previous posts!

Hi and thanks for the post.

I use to love Sandman, and I regret not buying more of the originals when I had the chance. The cartoon is fantastic at it's best!

I have read some of NG's books. I liked them a lot too, but not all of them are excellent. BUT I do feel that American Goods and Anansi Boys are very nice books.

I think its because that I didn't know anything about the book "American Goods" before i read it. A friend of mine just handed it over and said: read it you gonna love it. I did read it, and I loved it. I think I liked it so much because it gave me a another way to look at religion. Or better, another way to look at what humans choose to admire and worship.

Yes, sometimes not having a clue about a novel/comic/tv series is a great advantage as everything seems exciting and unexpected. I have not read Anansi Boys but I will try to, as you are the second one to mention it! American gods was nice but it felt like classic Gaiman; like Stephen King and Dan Brown, it feels like they use templates for their works!

Yea.
Not just knowing the plot, but also not expecting too much will improve the film. Easy to get overexcited with movies, series or music thats is overhyped.

Guardians of the Galaxy was a nice experience for me coz I knew nothing of it. Now I am a bit worried about seeing the sequel...

This post has received a 0.98 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @nyarlathotep.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

I'm new in steemit and I upvoted this post . If anyone will follow me and upvote my post . I will back your upvote . Let me know it by commenting in my post after upvoting my posts. Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67638.45
ETH 2614.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67