Michael's Long Box: When You Just Can't Get Enough DEATHMATE!

in #comics6 years ago (edited)

If you don't like comics, and specifically if you don't like 90's comics, you'll want to click the 'Back' button on this one. Having covered the colossal, industry-shattering Mongolian clusterfuck that was Deathmate on here once already, I doubt you want to read anything else about it for at least another six to twelve months.

Good news! Your wish is granted! Today's post is a simple public service announcement for a YouTube channel that has put more time, effort, and hard-drive space into Deathmate than any sane person needs. So of course I'm sharing it. Take a look at Crypto Comics's ridiculous, unnecessary, fanboyishly-awesome hour-long read through/tribute/diatribe to this four-color abomination.

Yeah, you read that right. One full hour of Deathmate. From Prologue to Epilogue, and all four colors in between, this is the video you didn't even know you needed to watch until now. It's a page-by-page look at almost all things Deathmate, including a basic plot summary and enough Liefeld worship to bring your own religious feelings into question.

Like, seriously, don't even touch the upvote button. Go watch his video, give it a thumbs up, and leave a comment that I sent you or something. He won't have a clue who I am, because I don't know him and I'm not a content creator for YouTube, but that will make it even funnier. :D

Steem on, my good people, and may the truth of Deathmate never cease ringing in your ears!

Sort:  

The video lasts 1 hour 😵 I could have read the whole comic in that time 😉 But a funny strange guy... @peekbit

Made it less than a third of the way lol, what an undertaking this guy did. Subscribed to the channel now though.

I just love how, in the end, it all boils down to nothing mattering. All the deaths, all the chaos, all the fighting...it was all meaningless, since nothing of what happens in Deathmate actually happens. :D

Then I remember DC pulled a similar stunt with their massive Bloodlines crossover in the early 90's, which created no fewer than twenty-seven new superheroes who were supposed to be more, I dunno, interesting and extreme than Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, and the rest of their A- and B-listers.

Quick: can you name any of them besides "Hitman" (excluded because Garth Ennis got five freakin' years' worth of stories out of him in his own book)? :)

I didn't even realize Hitman actually came out of that, I know of that storyline and know of him but never connected the two at all.

Hitman was the only character from the Bloodlines arc to have any staying power. A couple of the others, like Gunfire, stuck around for a bit, but once they were introduced, nobody really knew what to do with them. I just remember reading the issues where Deathstroke, a guy so dangerous he can nearly solo the entire Justice League, gets dropped by Gunfire via a single shot. To the back, no less. So lame... :)

Just putting this here, since I can't edit the post any longer: the original creators of this video split from "Testosterone Overload" to create a new channel called "Crypto Comics". The Deathmate video is now here:

I watched this video, and I gave it a thumbs up. I don't know him. but I like his muscle^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39