What I've Been Reading Lately

in #comics6 years ago

All of these were obtained via my local library.

IMG_20180507_205002611_LL~2.jpg

The Wild Robot by Peter Brown

I saw this on a promo poster at the library and it seemed like something my 9 year old son would like. I thought I would read the first little bit and then skip around some, just to make sure it seemed appropriate for my son. But once I started, I just kept going. I found it pretty engaging, though of course simply written. It's an entertaining tale about survival, friendship, community, and scientific observation. I'd say this is spot on for my son. I'd recommend it for young readers probably 8-12, depending on maturity, ability, and interest.


These next 3 came out of a post from @modernzorker about TPBs that were self contained stories needing no prior knowledge. I was not familiar with any of these prior to his post.

Batman: The Long Halloween

This was a solid crime tale, much like I imagine the original Detective Comics stories might have been if written today. This picks up the story where Batman: Year One left off (so Batman is still early in his crime-fighting career), but you don't really need to have read that to enjoy The Long Halloween. It's pretty long, but doesn't feel unnecessarily so. The length is used to lay groundwork and tell a complete, self-contained story. The ending felt a little awkward, but that's really my only complaint. It was a good read and worth picking up.

Batman: Hush

I really liked the art, being a pretty prototypical example of modern Jim Lee, but I found the pacing of the story a bit rushed. Maybe I was missing some subtle foreshadowing, but things just seemed to come out of nowhere, with no real setup to speak of. I think this would have benefitted from another several pages worth of material to set up some payoffs/reveals later in the book. They're very different books with different purposes, but if you were going to pick only one of these Batman TPBs to check out, I'd say go with Long Halloween.

Deadline

This was a short read, but worth reading for the different perspective it gives on the superhero genre. While there are some appearances by familar faces, such as The Human Torch (aka Johnny Storm), it mostly focuses on a new character called The Judge, but the story is told through the eyes of a reporter for the Daily Bugle. I liked this approach, but would have preferred the story revolve around some already known heroes and events from the Marvel Universe. I really think they could have made a whole series using this approach. Still, I enjoyed it and would recommend it.

Sort:  

It's been forever since I read Hush. Ill have to reread at some point. I enjoyed the Long Halloween and reread that a few years back. Never read the other 2.

I don't know that any of these are stories I'll come back to in the future, but they were enjoyable enough on initial read. After looking into it further, apparently I only read the first part of Hush. I didn't know there was a vol 2. I'll have to check that out as well.

Ah. Lol. One of my favorite runs was when McFarlane and Michelline were on Amazing Spider-Man in the late 80’s. Still reread it every few years. Maybe it’s just because it brings back good memories as I started collecting around then but that run golds a spot in my heart.

That's how I am with Frank Miller's Born Again Daredevil storyline. I read it early in my collecting, and it made an impression.

Yeah it’s just something that reminds me of just starting out. Being fresh in the hobby and so excited for everything. I know exactly what you mean.

These sound interesting. I've been thinking about reading some comics. I find I tend to start books and then forget about them and never pick them up again for months on end nowadays but I do think comics would be good since they are more visual (which I think I might find easier as I have to re-read paragraphs often to get them in my head and understand them properly which visual cues should reduce) and I am keen to read the GOTG comics (not sure if I'd start with current gen guardians or the earlier ones) so I think I might try some comics again soon, and I think I'll probably start with GOTG. How mature are the batman ones? Are they pretty much adult reading (like how the animated Flashpoint Paradox, Justice League etc is aimed at adults) or are they more G rated?

These 2 Batman stories are a bit more mature. Long Halloween is probably aimed at adults and Hush is aimed at teens I would guess.

Fair enough. Sound like they would be interesting. I've enjoyed the animated adult DC movies I've seen so far and I'm sure the comics would be good too.

One way to find out. <smiley face emoji> Like I said, I got all these from my library, so that could be a good way to try it out and see what you think.

I always like to read your articles. Keep the good work on.

Thanks, I appreciate the kind words and support.

Ah I love when steemians take advice from others especially on comics!! Also! I love libraries, definitely an underutilized source of comic reading.

And I love that I can get great, in depth recommendations on steemit. Libraries have really stepped up their games the last several years in terms of comics, as well as resource sharing between different library systems. In Michigan at least, it's really easy to get pretty much anything that any library in Michigan has.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

we enjoy alot when we read some like these stories

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63904.38
ETH 2638.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83