Steemian vs. "The Bear" - Page #001 pencils!

in #comics6 years ago (edited)


Hey, Steemit/@dtube! I’ve been writing a lot about how comics art truly art therapy for me. I love telling stories and I love drawing sequential art. Why the need for so much creative therapy lately? Well, this market is a big part of it. The plan was to withdraw enough cryptocurrency to comfortably work on my comic projects with @ghostfish, transitioning out of photography. That’s clearly not going to happen on the timeline I hoped for.

As an artist, I tend to visualize everything. I’ve been thinking about this brutal bear market’s persistence as a villain, beating the living pulp out of her hero protagonist, STEEM. Years ago, I was friends with a guy that was obsessed with anime, specifically, Dragonball Z. We eventually became roommates, and I remember him hanging on the edge of his seat for fight scenes that would literally last two or three entire episodes!

That brought me the idea of this fun side project. “Steemian vs. The Bear”! No story line, per say. This isn’t going to have a decisive “end”. Two characters. Steemian, obviously, representing our precious STEEM blockchain […and in a sense, all of us], and “The Bear”. A self explanatory asshole that relentlessly beats on our protagonist, until eventually the tide turns and our hero gains the upper hand.

The idea is, I’m not going to write this. The cryptocurrency market is going to write the endless fight. I’ll draw pages that reflect what is actually happening in the world. If STEEM drops another 30% by next week, you can anticipate some more back-breaking brutality for our favorite token. If it shoots up to $1, a super saiyan Steemian will rise, unleashing the punishment of the blockchain against a fearful Bear.

This is something I’m doing to help cope with the hard time, while contributing something to the Steemit comic community. Hopefully, in the process, giving us all something to laugh at for good and for ill. It’s just for fun, since we’re all rooting for the home team. Thanks for reading. For more comics, illustration and photography, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Who is the winner except Love....

So true, @dobartim! But first, there's going to be a lot of fighting :P

Love the concept & even more so the execution! Looks gorgeous. Are you sketching poses in other files and then dropping them into panels?

Thanks, @bryan-imhoff. I feel like I'm moving in to a new tier of my comic art. Things are just coming together with new approaches at reference, Figurosity is helping me SO much right now, doing split screen on the iPad Pro. Also, as far as my process, I've found it's easier for me to draw characters individually on other documents, then copy and paste them in to the panels design.

Wooooooowwww! This is an amazing comic strip, not only because it represents what's going on right now, you conveyed the situation with a great comic and not one of those long essays of doom and gloom. I'm definitely looking forward to see what's happening next!
                   
And your lines are gorgeous, love the details, the action poses, and the characters' faces :D.

Thanks, @scrawly. Yeah. It's a really painful time right now. We all have to find our own coping skills. This seems like a fun way for me to deal with everything. Thank you! That means a lot.

Cool concept, now it's going to be even more interesting to see what the market does, keep it up! :)

omg amazing page

i am entranced by the drawing that appears ! LOVE THIS SO MUCH, LARS !!!

and it sounds like an amazing idea :D I'd be rooting for the super saiyan steemian, of course !!!

GORGEOUS~

HAHA! I am, too @veryspider. This idea occurred to me the other day and I had to bring it to life. I may have to redesign the Steemian character a bit, but it'll surely be a therapeutic way to cope with the downtimes [...and celebrate the uptimes].

Great Idea! I wanted to do an educational gag strip about crypto at some point but an epic fight is so much better. I'm waiting for the cool cliche yet technical catch phrases!

HAHA! Just an endless Dragonball Z fight, @jrej. Should be fun. This is my coping skill for the market currently.

LOLOLOLOLOL!

Great one! kommieneksajfksaljfak :) you know your name already master! :)

Shouting go down, and fighting ourselves to shout go up... During these grizzly markets steemians have a fight in their heads too is it better to go up a bit or down to invest some more! :)

Very cool, I had to take a break a couple of weeks from my long project and instead I made two one page comics. It really gives me new energy to sometimes just relax and make an on the side project.

I hope the bear will win one more page and then he needs to be stopped.

Yeah, @katharsisdrill. I'm still very much in a learning phase of my comic book design. Little one-off pages are a great way for me to develop my skills. HAHA! Well, I think The Bear is going to be in control of this fight for a while, unfortunately.

It is as if the learning phase never ends! When I was a fine artist making paintings I once talked to a colleague who had a strip in a Danish paper, and he said that comics was the most challenging thing he ever did (he's a painter too). Now I tend to agree with him. I have started a titanic enterprise, but I probably should have done more short things instead.

And that bear is just beating us all up. I wait for Steem to worth 15 ¢. That equals one Danish Crown - so it will be easier to calculate in my head!

Cool idea!

haha pretty interested!

HA! Thanks, @travelgirl! I already have the next page in mind, assuming things still stay down in the market. Spoiler alert. Steemian is most likely going to be taking a beating a while longer :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58196.53
ETH 3121.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42