Steel- An Important African American Superhero Inspired By John Henry and Superman

in #comics7 years ago

1.jpg

Steel- An Important African American Superhero Inspired By John Henry and Superman

A few days ago I went through my box of old comic books that I collected as a child and came across Steel, who was one of my favorite superheroes as a kid.

Doctor John Henry Irons was a scientist who worked for AmerTek Industries designing high tech weapons. After his weapons were used for harming people, he moved to Metropolis and was saved by Superman and inspired to live a better life. He witnessed the battle between Doomsday and Superman, and attempted to help Superman by picking up a sledgehammer to fight Doomsday but was knocked out by the falling debris. By the time he gained consciousness it was too late and Superman was dead.

He awakened to find out that newer versions of his weapons were being used by street gangs, and created a powerful suit to battle those gangs. John Henry Iron's became a superhero to uphold Superman's legacy. He was known as the "Man of Steel", but it was shortened to "Steel". Even after Superman's resurrection he still remained as a superhero.

Steel's main inspiration was the African American Folk Hero, John Henry, who according to researchers was born in the 1840's or 1850's. John Henry had the job of hammering steel drills into rocks to make holes for explosives that would blast the rocks for railroad tunnel construction. He challenged a steam powered hammer and won, but died from exhaustion.

A movie was made in 1997 starring Shaq, but it was horrible. I truly hope to see Steel on the big screen in the future, but considering the way the DCEU is doing now with its films... I'm not too sure.

I hope that everyone enjoyed this post!

Follow me @king-enzo, comment, upvote and resteem!

Sort:  

Aww.....the movie was awesome.. when I was like 8! Now....not so much...ready for a remake!!

You are right, buddy! On with the remake!

Agreed! lol

Haha, I remember that movie in 1994 with Shaq. It was pretty bad.

Agreed! I remember watching it and wondering what the hell were they thinking..

Steel is definitely one of my favorite characters and I feel that DC missed a great story with this current rushed Justice League movie

It's all about money and timing for Hollywood. Many times movies related to comic books could be way more thought out.

I remember the day Superman died, and I remember the new heroes it spawned. I never thought of them having back stories. Cool info, but I agree that it would be almost impossible for them to fit it in the current DCEU.

Yea, its like they rushed into this current story line just to make a justice league movie

I came in to make sure Shaq got his due, I am leaving satisfied lol.

Couldn't forget about Shaq lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70