So... what about Phill?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #comics5 years ago


I have not made any Phill pages since the new year started. Right now Phill and his friends are attending the winter solstice ritual of Raven Donoho (take a look here). The reason for this gap in the continuous story is partly illness, partly because I have used some time to plan the fundraiser for the first Phill-album, but it is also becasue I needed some time to plan a bit ahead.

The story about Phill has become immensely complicated, and while this is kind of the soul of this particular comic, I have, in the time I have been making it, had to sometimes stop and do a bit of planning.

So right now, Phill is mostly a text. I am making good headway, but the process is not really one that can be forced. The scenes pop up in my head when they want to and new and old characters take shape slowly and organically.

Within the next couple of pages we will see the return of our old, nameless friends from the CIA and NSA, Mary the electric car, but also a new character, Latisha Babin, who was mentioned on page 54. There will also be a shift in location - most of the comic has been taking place in Wales, but now we will probably soon return to England.

I hope you haven't forgotten about the whole thing. I will have to write both my company accounting and some applications for grants for the printing, this week, but from about the 1st of March the Phill pages will again be flowing.

Sort:  

Keep on keeping on, as they say.

This is sort of why I have never taken that final step into the project of comic or narrative sequential story. I know once you are in it, it's a LONG process, but one of love. And it is worth it of course, but I always stop myself before committing and just go back to random one off narratives of painting/drawing/graphic design.

I can't wait to see where Phill ends up.

it is an obligation to start on a long history, but comics can of course also be short. I cannot recommend to anyone to write neither novels nor long graphic novels, but small stories are easy enough to go about and then you can just make more small stories in the same universe ...

Of course I never was able to follow my own advices...

I'll keep up with the English slang then, I know you pick up on it..., watching the In-Betweeners might help in that area :)

First day at school! Found the first episode on Youtube!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77