Phill from GCHQ - page 54 - Dubious analysts

in #comics6 years ago

Dubious analysts - Page 54 of the cartoon about Phill from GCHQ - a free comic that I have been working on since September 2016.

Introduction to this weeks page

There is a lot of catching up to do, how are the CIA reacting for example. I always am very concerned if the comic gets to boring or repeats itself or have too much text or gets sidetracked, but after my short hiatus, where I read a lot of comics, I have stopped worrying.

Blake and Mortimer uses much more space on building the mystery and a lot more text. Dick Tracy cuts between the villain's often exiting and dramatic getaway, and the more calm episodes where the policemen get back on the villains track. It is actually quite entertaining and we simply need to get around all these many characters I invented. Phill and his friends will be hidden a little while yet, but I hope you still enjoy the series.

To help the Americans out a bit, I just invented another character: Latisha Babin. You will meet her soon.

Translations

Thanks to some very dedicated and helpful people the comic about Phill from GCHQ can also be read in other languages. New pages are published on their respective Steemit pages. Please follow them and support their work!

I would be very pleased if you considered supporting the comic with fiat-money on:

or with cryptocoins:

Bitcoins: 1EpzfvHpvYui8dguG2sbxk7VvcehxZGNca

Ether: 0x779f31b12862e6d750cbbcdb9a2c315b44504d83

Litecoin: LcUeDDMSzhaGwMd7m6x1qptdNZ3nrPEyiq

Bitcoin Cash: 17xXYeYrJWReqf9r2sgZf5QtigqvXeURUu

Ripple: rBENrZprLN4sjiVEi8JX5rH48k1B9GK9Gd

Steem: here on Steemit :)

The comic is, like all my digital artworks, made exclusively with open source software:


The comic is licensed as

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC-by)

Sort:  

"Damien Dorfmund" is also a new character, isn't he?
Is he a reference to a famous person from Dortmund?
It's kind of my 'real hometown' and once was very rich:

In the years leading up to 1344, the English King even borrowed money from well-heeled Dortmund merchant families Berswordt and Klepping, offering the regal crown as security.

Source

The "mund" (German for "mouth") probably means "hill" sometimes called "manda", "monda" or "munda" (latin: "mons"). Some people also think it has to do with waters (latin: "manare"). Others see the meaning in the latin word for Dortmund, which is "Tremonia" and means something like city with three walls (tres-moenia).

No, he's been there for a while. He is one of the three commentators. He appears first time on page 18 as I needed one to explain the story about Kim Philby. I had at that timer already a historian phd in Celtic iron age and a orgasm coach, but none of them would be able to explain spy stuff. It was first afterwards that I realised that these three represented the things I was mixing up - Supernatural Celtic Gods, Spy satire and the story about Phill. I first really realised what a finely balanced team they actually were on page 29 where they are arguing about which kind of story we are witnessing. They are a bit like three demented norns.

As for the name I must admit that I went for Dortmund because I somehow connects the cold war with Germany, and because Dortmund (whose name I now still am confused about, but in a learned sort of way thanks to you) gives me associations to my atomic war frightened childhood. I made it Dorf - not like a village, but in the American sense: an idiot or boring geek or something like that.

Thanks for the datailed infos. My brain must have had some sort of stack overflow, that I forgot about this guy ;-) I rather know the term "dork", than "dorf", but maybe it's just me.

Yes, maybe I thought of dork... :)

Not a classic muslim warrior.

Geeesh... no, she ain't.

I am still following the story, I started to like this comic and will wait the next pages. thank you @katharsisdrill

really great story,,,i like it

really great comics,,,i just waiting for next ,,,thanks for sharing

I am very interested in comics, what else to tell about war, politics, and conspiracy. is there any translation in Indonesian ,?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00