BarbarellasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #comics8 years ago

One of the pleasures in life is when you do not understand something. In my book-shelf I have comics in many languages, but the un-understandable are mostly in French and Japanese. I do know a little French and I have lately taken a decision to learn some more, but when I try to read a normal French book I must realize that my vocabulary is far too small.

But then again I still love to browse through foreign comics trying to make some sense of it.

One of the truly strange comics was made by the French cartoonist Jean-Claude Forest. It's name: Barbarella - a weird and erotic science fiction strip about a beautiful blonde space-farer experiencing some of the most peculiar planets and worlds one can imagine.

What is for example going on here? (press to see a larger image)

Or here...

The series was eventually made into a feature film starring Jane Fonda. But even though it really do capture some of the outlandish psychedelia, and even though I did enjoy Jane Fonda in the orgasm-machine when I saw it as a kid, it still does not really capture the innocent (of sorts) playfulness of the comic.

Sadly it is some times since I read Barbarella in a language that I understood, but after having used the afternoon to procrastinate over what I could find on the internet, I do consider buying an English version.


Sort:  

Roger Vadim, the director of the movie Barbarella had been married to Brigitte Bardot and Annette Strøyberg [Danish connection]. For 3 years in 1961-1964, he was the lover of Catherine Deneuve.
In 1965, he married his 3rd wife Jane Fonda. He casted her in the movie as Barbarella.
According to Wikipedia:

Jane Fonda a affirmé avoir été en état d'ivresse pendant la quasi totalité du tournage. D'après elle, il s'agit d'un conseil de Roger Vadim pour être moins nerveuse.

Jane Fonda said that she was drunk for the quasi totality of the shhoting. According to her, she was following an advice from Roger Vadim to be less nervous.

After being romantically involved with these 4 actresses, Roger Vadim was also married to Marie-Christine Barrault from 1990 until his death in 2000 at 72 years of age. Quite a life!

Well, he sure knew how to get the best of show-biz! Jane Fonda was really, as I remember it, quite charming in the film. Nice when alcohol have that effect.

I remember seeing only bits of the film but oh, there's a comic too..of course. Very tempting :D

I am planning on buying it in English if I can find it.

Thanks, looks like it is used books? I will go through it when I have time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62836.52
ETH 2558.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72